Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Agnostic Front: Get Loud!

It’s possible that some readers won’t be familiar with Agnostic Front. If so, the most important thing to know right now is that there was a time when they were basically essential listening, especially if you were into hardcore punk or crossover thrash. The band was part of the original generation of New York hardcore; they also helped pioneer the familiar sound we like to call crossover thrash. In the mid-to-late 1980s, punk fans had a good sense of what hardcore should sound like, but crossover was often misunderstood, especially with listeners who separated metal from punk.

After a decade or so of ripping things up, Agnostic Front broke up in 1992. They reformed in 1996 and have been mostly growing in popularity especially after the turn of the millennium. Not surprisingly, the band has seen quite a bit of turnover, but they still have founding member Vinnie Stigma on rhythm guitar and Roger Miret (who joined the band in 1982) on vocals. Rounding out the current lineup are Mike Gallo (bass), Pokey Mo (drums), and Craig Silverman (lead guitar). Gallo and Silverman also sing backup vocals.

I could probably write much more about Agnostic Front in general, but I don’t want to stray too far from the band’s newest album. Simply put, it’s a solid entry into the band’s overall catalogue. Die-hard fans will probably always prefer much of the band’s older stuff, but there’s simply nothing wrong with tracks like “Spray Painted Walls,” “I Remember,” “Get Loud,” and “Anti Social.” The best thing about this band is that they really don’t need to prove anything. This is not a comeback and it’s not a push for some late-career relevance. It’s also not a desperate attempt to prove how hard or crazy they are. This is just Agnostic Front doing what they do best. This album is awesome and provides a clear sign that punk and crossover are still fresh and exciting. The best thing fans can do is enjoy the album, catch the band on the road, and get loud with the band.

Track Listing:
1. Spray Painted Walls
2. Anti Social
3. Get Loud
4. Conquer and Divide
5. I Remember
6. Dead Silence
7. AF Stomp
8. Urban Decay
9. Snitches Get Stitches
10. Isolated
11. In My Blood
12. Attention
13. Pull the Trigger
14. Devastated

Added: November 19th 2019
Reviewer: Carl Sederholm
Related Link: Band Twitter Feed
Hits: 955
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by