Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Dead Quiet: Dead Quiet

Canada is no stranger to heavy music. Bands like Voivod, Annihilator, Protest the Hero….you get the idea. After just reviewing the Vancouver doom metal act Seer, here comes another band from that city that has just recently grabbed my attention.

Dead Quiet formed around 2013 and released their self-titled debut in 2015, followed by Grand Rites in 2017. They then signed with Artoffact Records, hence the re-release of their first album. The band is led by singer/guitarist Kevin Keegan but finding further information on the band has been somewhat of a challenge. I believe Jason Dana, Brock Macinnes and Mike Grossnickle rounded out the lineup on the first album but there has been some changes since. The album is pretty straight forward doom, very catchy and powerful. It’s all about the riffs and groove here as you will hear some stand out guitar on every track. The fuzzy sludge fest that is “The Sorceress” is a heavy opener with huge slabs of riffs and pounding rhythms. Keegan has an Ozzy-like voice, slightly raspy and is catchy enough to grab your attention. More doom can be heard on “Foul Words” starting slow and picking up speed with a cool galloping beat and layered guitar riffs. The mellower guitar riffs in “God Was Wrong” followed by excellent acoustic rhythm guitar is a nice change before the invading burst of heaviness. Here Keegan spits out the words with pure venomous emotion. This one really showcases the band’s talent and ingenuity.

The low budget sci-fi themed cover catches the eye as well as the music catches the ear, very effective in drawing attention. Lyrics are also included which is always a big plus, at least for me. I would suggest listing band members and instruments on further releases as more information is always a good thing.

Another excellent doom metal band that should strike a chord with all purveyors of heavy music. Looking forward to hearing more of the band in the near future. Recommended.

Track Listing:
1. The Sorceress
2. Foul Words
3. God Was Wrong
4. My Finest Hour
5. Remaining Remains
6. Home Is Where You Go To Die
7. The Fall Of Me
8. Let It Die
9. A Thousand Lives

Added: November 12th 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 436
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by