Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Ossuary, The: Southern Funeral

Doom metal and stoner rock have really been making a comeback (or perhaps it never left in the first place). Regardless, there is another band that has been making a huge impression on me and they are Italian rockers The Ossuary. They formed in Bari, southern Italy in 2014 and include members of the death metal band Natron, which is now on hiatus. They released their debut album Post Mortem Blues in 2014 and this past January dropped their sophomore effort titled Southern Funeral. There is an underlying theme regarding the ancient folklore of their homeland, funeral rituals and the afterlife. The cover art is quite revealing. As you can imagine this is not light fare, it’s some heavy stuff and in a word, excellent.

The first track “Walk Into Sepulchral Haze” is a real hard rocking burner. An incredibly dramatic church organ begins the track for nearly a minute and then the guitar bursts forth with some great riffs. Its melodic, heavy and very creative, especially the riffs. The vocals are clean but slightly gruff, an ideal tone and style for the music, reminding a little of early Blue Oyster Cult. The ultra-heavy distorted fuzz of the urgent “Maze Of No Return”, including catchy vocals and ripping lead guitar, the hooky guitar riffs in “Belphegor” and the slightly ominous title track are all worthy of your attention.

Southern Funeralis another excellent doom metal release in what has been an outstanding year for the doom/stoner genre. A very talented band for sure and one that will hopefully be around for a long time to come.

A Supreme Chaos Records release.

The band is:
Domenico Mele (guitars)
Dario De Falco (bass)
Stefano Fiore (vocals)
Max Marzocca (drums)

Additional musicians:
Enrico Elia (Moog)
Lorenzo Signorile (keyboards)

Track Listing:
1. Walk Into Sepulchral Haze (4:39)
2. Maze Of No Return (4:41)
3. Belphegor (5:14)
4. Southern Funeral (7:24)
5. Eternal Pyre (4:57)
6. Sleep Demon (5:21)
7. Under The Spell (4:52)
8. Shadow Of The Plague (7:40)

Added: November 12th 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band @ Facebook
Hits: 377
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by