Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Lord Mantis: Universal Death Church

Lord Mantis has no interest in comfort or ease. The band has always confronted listeners with music so relentless and so punishing that some listeners will give up before hearing most of it. And yet, Lord Mantis has developed a strong following, one that loves just how intense and how edgy the band can be.

Fans won’t likely feel disappointed with this album, especially since it means new music from a band that appeared to be falling apart. Not only did Bill Bumgardner, the band’s founder and drummer, commit suicide, but Andrew Markuszewski (guitars / vocals) and Charlie Fell (vocals) had a serious falling out. Fortunately, the guys began mending fences. They also started developing this album, their joint tribute to their fallen founder. Joining Markuszewski and Fell are Ken Sorceron (guitars for Abigail Williams), Dylan O’Toole (vocals for Indian) and new drummer Bryce Butler.

For fans of Lord Mantis’s crazed and punishing sound, this album is just as relentless as the band’s other music. Just listen to “Fleshworld” or “Santa Muerte” or “Qliphotic Alpha” and you’ll get your fill. The band is as fierce and as direct as ever. And yet, there are a few new qualities here that I think fans will appreciate. Don’t get me wrong, this is not some experimental album that defies the band’s earlier sound. But there is definitely a few more elements here. Listen, for example, to “Consciousness.exe,” the most interesting track on the album. It’s leaner and slightly groovier than what you might expect even though it still bears all the signs of Lord Mantis’s sound. If that track draws your attention, check out “Low Entropy Narcosis,” another surprising piece of music. I still don’t quite know what to make of the vocals on that track. They are just “below” the rest of the music�"and they are spoken rather than rasped. Yes, it’s only a few moments of calm, but even bands like Lord Mantis occasionally need to regroup.

Track Listing:
1. Santa Muerte
2. God’s Animal
3. Qliphotic Alpha
4. Consciousness.exe
5. Low Entropy Narcosis
6. Damocles Falls
7. Fleshworld
8. Hole

Added: November 11th 2019
Reviewer: Carl Sederholm
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 654
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by