Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Transnadežnost: Monomyth

Transnadežnost is a Russian space/psych band from St. Petersburg which came about in 2012. The psych music scene in Russia has really taken off these past few years with many exceptional bands leading the way. Transnadežnost is another such band. Their debut album titled Monomyth was released in September of 2018 although the band have released a couple of EPs before this album only available in digital format.

The band has a cool laid back trippy sound that is just great to relax to although they do throw in some heavier moments as well in the form of meaty guitar riffs. The guitar work is excellent throughout, both rhythm and lead. This can be heard right from the very first track “Pachamama”. A simple drum and bass beat slowly gains in volume as the guitar forms laid back psychedelic tones. It’s trippy and spacey and pretty mellow until heavier riffs come into play but not too heavy as to disrupt the song’s mellow overall vibe. Tricky changes in tempo has the band exercising their considerable talent and the lead guitar work is clean and clear and oh yeah, really trippy. “Ladoga” features another slow build as the guitar notes and chords gain in complexity as the song progresses. Another song ideally suited for fans of mellow psych and space rock although half way through the tempo increases and the band plays with more intensity developing into a great jam. The drum work is also quite revealing of talent and class. The psychedelic jam that is “Kailash” is more experimental with heavier outbursts and Eastern guitar tones. On a couple of tracks; “Star Child” and “Day/Night” trumpet is added giving these tunes some jazz-like elements.

A combination of experimental, space and psychedelic rock, one can only hope this Russian band will continue to create genre bending music, without any constraints whatsoever . Excellent stuff.

An Addicted Label release.

Band line-up:
Aleksandr Yershov (guitar)
Alesya Izlesa (guitar, glockenspiel)
Nikolay Vladimirovich (bass)
David Aaronson (drums, percussion)

Egor Svysokihgor (vocals on track 5)
Aleksey Gorshkov (trumpets on tracks 4 and 7)

Track Listing:
1. Pachamama
2. Ladoga
3. Kailash
4. Star Child
5. Huldra
6. Chewbacca
7. Day/Night

Added: November 9th 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 1075
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by