Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Moore, Vinnie: Soul Shifter

Soul Shifter is the latest instrumental solo CD from UFO lead guitarist Vinnie Moore, and comes four years after his previous effort Aerial Visions. With help from drummers Richie Monica & John Pessoni, bassists Rudy Sarzo, Randy McStine, and Michael Beane, as well as keyboard players Jordan Rudess & John Cassidy, Moore has put together ten new tracks chock full of not only inspiring guitar work, but instantly memorable melodies and flavors of hard rock, blues, funk, jazz, and Southern twang.

"Funk Bone Jam" kicks things off in fine fashion, a funky shred piece with a ton of groove and plenty of white hot guitar licks, which is followed by the addicting "Same Sun Shines", a bluesy, funky slice of instrumental pop, Vinnie's ability to craft a hook laden instrumental track ever present. "Kung Fu Grip" once again brings the funk, metallic guitar licks flying all place and saturated in wah-wah, Monica's drums digging in deep and providing for a stellar launching pad for intense guitar pyrotechnics. The laid back, pop-jazz of "Mystified" follows, tender guitar lines wrenching at your soul, showing a side of this guitarist we don't often see but one he absolutely excels at. "Brother Carlos" can only be a homage to the great Carlos Santana, and the Latin Jazz flavors and singing lead lines are here in force. My personal favorite track on Soul Shifter is the funky Southern twang of "Gainesville Station", a real Steve Morse Band/Dixie Dregs inspired barnburner, filled with tasty chicken picking guitar licks, fun piano & Hammond from Rudess and Cassidy, and intricate rhythms. A fun, fun piece. Vinnie pulls out his acoustic guitar for the rootsy "Soul Rider", and the crisp "Mirage" offers up some melodic bluesy strains that again show Moore's ability to inject some memorable hooks into an instrumental song. The album closes with more acoustic & electric tones on "Heard You Were Gone", and the rousing metallic blues rock workout "Across the Ages", which is just dripping in killer tone.

Classy from start to finish, Soul Shifter sees guitarist Vinnie Moore in fine form, and even with UFO nearing the end of a glorious career, this musician still has a bright future ahead of him. Highly recommended.

Track Listing
01. Funk Bone Jam
02. Same Sun Shines
03. Kung Fu Grip
04. Mystified
05. Brother Carlos
06. Gainesville Station
07. Soul Rider
08. Mirage
09. Heard You Were Gone
10. Across The Ages

Added: October 26th 2019
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Artist Facebook Page
Hits: 1225
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by