Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hollow Haze: Between Wild Landscapes And Deep Blue Seas

After reforming the band, founding member Nick Savio and Hollow Haze are back with a new record called, Between Wild Landscapes And Deep Blue Seas (Frontiers Music). The albums 11 tracks tackles the meaning of life and its adventure, all delivered within a Symphonic/Melodic Metal landscape filled with underlying keyboard atmosphere.

Hollow Haze is the Italian melodic metal band put together by guitarist Nick Savio after he quit Eternal Idol, the band he had put together with famed Italian metal vocalist Fabio Lione (Angra, Rhapsody). Hollow Haze had previously released six studio albums before Nick started Eternal Idol, but the new Hollow Haze features a revamped line-up and a new direction. Along with longtime bassist Davide Cestaro, Hollow Haze now features Fabio Dessi (Arthemis) and Paolo Caridi (MLB) as vocalist and drummer, respectively.

This new album, Between Wild Landscapes And Deep Blue Seas is melodic, heavy, and symphonic all at the same time and Hollow Haze offers a melodic sound filled with soaring and clear vocals and big hooks. Songs like “Behind The Wall” show the bands affinity for melody combined with heavily distorted guitar riffs and big catchy choruses. Layered production provides an overall pleasant tone of the entire album, while not sounding too slick, at the same time.

Overall, Hollow Haze have delivered a really good sounding record with some elegant sounding songs. However, I found myself losing some interest mid-way through as their sound is one that has been done quite a lot before and comes across as “done before” and not very compelling. Their songwriting is fine, but I’ve heard this before and became a bit bored. Having said that, the vocal performances are really quite good and are truly a major highlight. I found their hooky and Symphonic Metal approach didn’t really hit me very hard and I found this release a bit stale, but not terribly bad, just bland.


  1. Destinations
  2. Oblivion
  3. It’s Always Dark Before The Dawn
  4. Through Space And Time
  5. I Will Be There
  6. The Upside Down
  7. New Era
  8. A Different Sky
  9. Resurrection
  10. You Are My End And My Beginning
  11. Behind The Wall

Added: October 17th 2019
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 858
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by