Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Scenariot: Worlds Within Worlds

Years ago a band came to my attention by the name of Without End and their self-titled debut album released in 2004. It was, and still is an excellent disc. I never forgot about them but that was their only album (I do play it every so often and enjoy it immensely). Fast forward fifteen years and an Australian band called Scenariot. At first I didn’t see the connection but lo and behold Michael Totta happened to lead Without End and he does the same with this relatively new venture. Worlds Within Worlds is their sophomore disc, the follow up to their self-titled debut released in 2017. The album’s concept, depicted by the gripping cover art (no pun intended) in the words of Totta “reflects the unknown and fragile world often left hidden behind smoke and mirrors.” I couldn’t agree more with that sentiment. Okay, on to the music.

Worlds Within Worlds has to be one of the freshest sounding and fun discs I have heard this year. The band have a sort of alternative heavy prog sound loaded with great riffs, atmospheric keyboards and some killer melodies. Vocalist Dan Swan has a unique voice which I am loving more and more with each successive listen. The title track begins the disc with sound effects and piano with an electronic sounding drum beat before the heavy guitar riffs enter with a flourish. Meter change ups are subtle but there nonetheless and the hooks had me almost immediately. The vocals are both clean and distorted with effects and are generally superb. “Upsilon-7” features fuzzy guitar riffs and catchy keyboards with heavier and lighter moods. The chaotic ending is totally off the wall and freaky, you’ll just have to hear it for yourself. The acoustic and electric “Fade Away” has a bit of Porcupine Tree, at least to my ears and the vocals and melodies are catchy as hell. There are eight racks in total, that leaves five more nuggets for you to explore.

I really dig this band’s sound. An excellent new find from the world of alternative prog. This one comes highly recommended.

The players:

Michael Totta (guitars, keyboards)
Dan Swan (vocals, sound effects)
JP Glovasa (bass, keyboards)
Greg Stone (drums)

Track Listing:
1. Worlds Within Worlds
2. Upsilon-7
3. Fade Away
4. Sea of Fire
5. This Hope
6. Last Doubt
7. Vortex
8. Mysterious Skies/Afterlife

Added: October 11th 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band @ Facebook
Hits: 1138
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by