Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Phenomena: Anthology

The Phenomena project/concept was launched in the mid ‘80s by Tom Galley with some help from his brother Mel Galley (Whitesnake, Trapeze). Three albums were released; Phenomena (1985), Phenomena II - Dream Runner (1987) and Phenomena III - Inner Vision (1993). Some outstanding musicians were featured including Glenn Hughes (vocals), Ray Gillen (vocals), John Wetton (vocals), Cozy Powell (drums), Brian May (guitar), Scott Gorham (guitar) and many others. All three albums were remastered by Cherry Red in 2018. Now we have the release Anthology, a selection of tracks from all three albums. The first few tracks are taken form the first album including the catchy AOR pop rock sheen of “Still Of The Night”, the moody and dramatic “Dance With The Devil with fanciful keyboard strings courtesy of Ric Sanders and the engaging ballad “Phoenix Rising”. All feature the outstanding vocals of Glenn Hughes. More highlights include the tasty guitar and keys in the moody rocker “Assassins Of The Night”, the melodic “Did It All For Love” featuring the exquisite voice of John Wetton (it really could have been a long lost Asia track) and the irresistible “Stop!” with vocals by Ray Gillen, another mood laden mid-tempo rocker.

I will admit to not hearing the original albums although they have been on my radar for many years. This album has renewed my interest and I look forward to hearing all their songs. Recommended.

An important note - the following musicians who were integral to the project are now gone. May you rest in peace and never be forgotten:

Ray Gillen
Ted McKenna
Cozy Powell
Mel Galley
John Wetton

Track Listing:
1. Still The Night
2. Dance With The Devil
3. Phoenix Rising
4. Assassins Of The Night
5. Running With The Pack
6. Stop!
7. Did It All For Love
8. Hearts On Fire
9. Banzai (Single Edit)
10. What About Love
11. If You Want To Rock
12. How Much Do You Love Me?
13. Stealing Heaven
Bonus Tracks
14. Did It All For Love (12” remix)
15. Still The Night (12” remix)

Added: October 9th 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Project's Official Site
Hits: 768
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by