Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Simonetti, Morante & Pignatelli: Tenebre (soundtrack)

This is not USDA grade "A" horror-flick Goblin. But it's almost that good, with bright red blood seeping out around the edges of every tune. As we have come to expect from the Goblin crew, Simonetti, Morante and Pignatelli deliver superb individual performances. The bonus tracks [alternate mixes, bits from the film that were replaced on the LP by the fleshed-out versions, some remixes] make for an eclectic listening experience. All of these are good, and some of them are on par with or perhaps better than the album versions.

Into the mix for the first time in Goblin history comes a drum machine. Never fear, it's programmed quite effectively by one of the most electronically savvy cerebral dudes ever to strap it on for prog [maestro Claudio Simonetti] and the potential cheese factor is kept to a minimum.

Even though this isn't officially a Goblin release, since contractually it couldn't be [Fabio Pignatelli having a 5 man Goblin lineup in the studio working on "Volo" during this time-frame], it was clearly done by three guys with enormous respect for each other, attention to detail, and pride in their group craftsmanship. It's Goblin in everything but the name.

Seeing the film first [really quite a wild, dark and twisted ride] might give you a greater appreciation for the soundtrack, but it stands quite nicely on its own of you're not up for a walk into Dario Argento's stylish world of horror. Even if Simonetti and cohorts fell slightly short of the brass ring compared to other Goblin albums, this set is certainly head and shoulders above most of what passes for soundtrack music in the early 21st century.

Massimo Morante: electric and acoustic guitars
Fabio Pignatelli: fender bass and fender fretless bass
Claudio Simonetti: roland jupiter 8, roland vocoder plus, minimoog, grand piano, rhodes electric piano, oberheim dmx digital drum, roland tr-808, roland mc4 computer

All compositions written and performed by Simonetti, Morante & Pignatelli.
Produced by Simonetti, Morante & Pignatelli.
Recorded Sept 1982 at Dirmaphon, Forum and 5A studios, Rome, Italy.
Graphic design by Fredrika Cao.

Track List
01. Tenebre [4:33]
02. Gemini [3:08]
03. Slow Circus [2:28]
04. Lesbo [5:13]
05. Flashing [6:14]
06. Tenebre (reprise) [4:08]
07. Waiting Death [4:13]
08. Jane Mirror Theme [1:59]
Tracks 1-8 comprised the original Cinevox album MDF 33.157, some of which appears in the film.
09. Flashing (film version) [2:42]
10. Gemini (film version suite) [2:03]
11. Flashing (intro film version) [0:50]
12. Gemini (alternate film version suite) [2:48]
13. Jane Mirror Theme (film version) [0:40]
14. Tenebre (alternate film version) [0:57]
15. Slow Circus (film version suite) [4:56]
16. Lesbo (film version) [3:52]
17. Tenebre Maniac (bonus track) 0:40
Tracks 9-17 are previously unreleased, taken from the film or were alternates considered for different scene versions.
18. Tenebre Remix (bonus track) [5:05]
19. Flashing Remix (bonus track) [5:28]
Tracks 18 & 19 appeared on Mix 33 RPM Cinevox MDEX 10

Added: March 29th 2005
Reviewer: Steven Davies-Morris
Related Link: Official GoblinWebsite
Hits: 2447
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by