Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Toto: 40 Tours Around the Sun

Toto have been one of America's greatest musical treasures for over 40 years now...don't believe me? Well, then take a listen or watch 40 Tours Around the Sun, their brand new live CD/DVD/Blu-ray set celebrating their 40th Anniversary tour, which has taken them around the globe bringing their stellar song craft to well over a million fans over the last year. Recorded on March 17, 2018 in front of over 18,000 fans at the Ziggo Dome in Amsterdam, the band tears through incredible renditions of 25 songs from throughout their long career.

If you've been following the band from the beginning, you'll get plenty of favorites from their rich discography, and for those new to the music of Toto, 40 Tours Around the Sun will serve as a 'greatest hits live' set that becomes a perfect introduction to the band. On board for this tour are Steve Lukather (guitar & vocals), David Paich (keyboards & vocals), Steve Porcaro (keyboards), Joseph Williams (vocals), Shannon Forrest (drums), Lenny Castro (percussion), Shem von Schroeck (bass, vocals), and Warren Ham (sax, harmonica, vocals), performing all these classics & deep cuts to perfection. Lukather, as always, is the master virtuoso behind it all, his blistering guitar licks & solos shining through on gems like "English Eyes", "Hold the Line", "Girl Goodbye", "Rosanna", "Lovers in the Night", and the raging jazz-fusion instrumental "Jake to the Bone". Other highlights include the ultra-memorable "I Will Remember", the catchy "Georgy Porgy", the hook laden "Stop Loving You", a stellar rendition of "While My Guitar Gentle Weeps", the wondrous pop of "Stranger in Town", and of course, the now legendary "Africa". Impeccable musicianship from all throughout, and the vocals by Lukather, Paich, and Williams are spot on.

This review is of the CD version of this live set, and the audio quality is top notch, but I'm sure the DVD & Blu-ray are stellar as well. All in all, a great way to celebrate Toto's 40th year giving us their brand of unforgettable rock & pop music, and as always a great job from the folks at Eagle Rock.

Track Listing
Disc 1
1. "Intro"
2. "Alone"
3. "Hold the Line"
4. “Lovers in the Night”
5. “Spanish Sea”
6. “I Will Remember”
7. “English Eyes”
8. “Jake to the Bone”
9. “Lea”
10. “Rosanna”
11. “Miss Sun”
12. “Georgy Porgy”
13. “Human Nature”
14. “Hollyanna”
15. “No Love”

Disc 2
1. “Mushanga”
2. “Stop Loving You”
3. “Girl Goodbye”
4. “Angela”
5. “Lion”
6. “Dune (Desert Theme”
7. “While My Guitar Gently Weeps”
8. “Stranger in Town”
9. “Make Believe”
10. “Africa”
11. "The Road Goes On”

Added: September 29th 2019
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1108
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by