Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Herron, Maggie: Renditions

Jazz vocalist and pianist Maggie Herron takes a bit of a departure on her latest platter titled Renditions. Her previous four albums featured original compositions but with her latest she has chosen to go the standard route, reinterpreting some classics of the genre with a few surprises along the way.

She is the core of her Pacific Rim band which also includes Darek Oles on bass and Ray Brinker on drums. Featured guests include Larry Koonse (guitar), Rocky Holmes (alto sax), Dean Taba (bass), Bob Sheppard (flute) and Noel Okimoto (drums).

The album opens with “Centerpiece” featuring the core trio at its expressive best. Herron’s piano and vocals are a nice match, both endearing with her husky jazz voice, excellent scatting and melodic piano tones. The song locks into an understated groove before piano, bass and drum solos are revealed. With the classic “Ain’t Misbehavin” it’s just Herron and Oles reinterpreting the familiar melody and soaking it in some fabulous piano and bass interaction. One of the prettiest tracks has to be “All Of Me” featuring Koonse’s crystalline leads and infectious rhythmic strums and Holmes’ tuneful alto sax. Just an all-around great track. Another heartwarming rendition is of The Beatles’ “I Will” which sounds great in the trio format. Herron’s vocals and piano are particularly convincing and the bass solo fits in like a glove.

This is another one of those jazz albums that exudes warmth and thoughtfulness with great care taken, treating these classics with the respect they deserve. A four star release to these ears.

Track Listing:
1. Centerpiece (5:32)
2. Ain’t Misbehavin’ (4:04)
3. All Of Me (4:56)
4. Perhaps, Perhaps, Perhaps (2:42)
5. I’m Beginning to See The Light (3:59)
6. I Will (4:19)
7. Just One Of Those Things (4:16)
8. Come Away With Me (2:58)
9. I’ll Be Seeing You (3:57)
10. Don’t Wait Too Long (4:25)
11. I Thought About You (5:38)
12. Gee Baby Ain’t I Good To You (4:05)

Added: September 28th 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 267
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by