Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Fetid: Steeping Corporeal Mess

If you’ve ever squirmed while watching Dr. Pimple Popper, you might want to forget about Fetid. Bands like Fetid aren’t interested in fleeting moments of pus or blood or even little growths. No, they are interested in the ways things rot and transform from something we recognize into something we cannot understand. If you need a literary parallel, go back to Edgar Allan Poe’s “The Facts in the Case of M. Valdemar,” a story about a guy suspended between life and death through hypnotism for the sake of scientific experiment. Needless to say, things don’t go well, and the guy ends up basically melting in front of everyone. Instead of a human being, Valdemar is nothing more than what Poe calls “detestable putridity.” That’s the state Fetid explores on this album.

If you listen to this album, it may surprise you to learn that Fetid is a relatively new band. The trio first grabbed everyone’s attention with their 2016 demo Sentient Pile of Amorphous Rot. With this, the band’s first official LP, they give fans even more of their massively brutal, intense, and rotten sound. Although the band’s dark themes and evil buzz saw riffs won’t be to everyone’s liking, the good news is that Fetid never lets up once they get started. Every track crawls toward the listener in ways you’ve only seen in the most disgusting horror flicks. Put another way, Fetid understands their genre and does it proud. If you’re curious to hear the band’s sound, check out “Reeking Within” or “Cranial Liquescent,” both solid introductions. For something ever so slightly different, turn to “Draped In What Was.” That song opens with some nice John Carpenter-style synths that give listeners a much-need sonic break. Like any good horror show, however, the synths also warn of things to come. And, after about a minute or so, the horrors definitely show up.

This album won’t appeal to everyone, but even casual listeners might be surprised at how solid Fetid’s overall performance is here. Their sound and songwriting is impressive and they definitely give new life to a genre obsessed with the dying and the rotten.

Track Listing:
1. Reeking Within
2. Cranial Liquescent
3. Consumed Periphery
4. Dripping Sub-tepidity
5. Draped In What Was

Added: September 21st 2019
Reviewer: Carl Sederholm
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 915
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by