Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Burger, Markus/Peter Erskine/Bob Magnusson: Accidental Tourists - The Alaska Sessions

Markus Burger was born in Germany and now resides in the US. He earned degrees from the University of Maastricht (Netherlands) and the University of Hamburg. He has been quite prolific as a producer of more than fifty albums and is one half of the Spiritual Standards duo which also includes saxophonist Jan von Klewitz. On his new solo album titled The Alaska Sessions he is joined by Peter Erskine (drums) and Bob Magnusson (bass).

This is jazz music of exceptional quality. The songs were written in Alaska as Burger has visited the state on numerous occasions. Over the course of two days the songs were fleshed out over the original melodies, often improvising along the way. The recording quality is beautiful, aurally stunning, each instrument in sharp focus but with depth as well. The musicianship is also excellent, as you would expect from three incredible players. Another high point are the melodies. They are absolutely gorgeous throughout these twelve tracks beginning with the album opening “Perpetuum Mobile”. Finesse and subtlety is the name of the game here as the piano movements build slightly, each instrument in unified harmony leading to a wonderful piano solo. “Big Chief” transitions from a melodic ballad to a more jaunty approach. The melodies and playing still languid and nuanced with the drums providing just the right amount of propulsive force. The haunting “The Beginning Of A Love Affair” shifts with expertly crafted minor chords which adds to the overall melancholia. The bass work in “Kaleidoscope” and “Budapest Grand Hotel Hustle” is outstanding, making these tracks more highlight material.

The Alaska Sessions is a highly enjoyable, beautifully crafted jazz album that should be turning more than just a few heads. A highly recommended release on Challenge Records International.

Track Listing:
1. Perpetuum Mobile (5:13)
2. Big Chief (6:19)
3. The Beginning Of A Love Affair (6:08)
4. Kaleidoscope (6:22)
5. Budapest Grand Hotel Hustle (4:51)
6. Skeys (6:23)
7. Fall Colors (5:24)
8. Kodiak Coho (5:41)
9. Pure Imagination (4:00)
10. Aqua Reflections (7:29)
11. The Good Old Days (7:46)
12. The Power Within You (6:50)

Added: September 17th 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 654
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by