Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

The Spellcasters: Music From The Anacostia Delta

Here we have another new release from the folks at Cuneiform Records, a small Washington, DC based label who have specialized for many years in underground jazz, fusion, avant-garde, and prog rock releases and now bring us the brand new album from the DC based collective called The Spellcasters, titled Music From the Anacostia Delta. They are named The Spellcasters because the band features a trio of Fender Telecaster guitar players, Joel Harrison, Anthony Pirog, and Dave Chappell, with the rest of the ground rounded out by bassist John Previte and drummer Barry Hart. This album is an homage to the Telecaster greats such as Danny Gatton, Roy Buchanan, Jimmy Bryant, Roy Nichols, Jerry Donahue, Jeff Beck, Bill Frisell, and others.

All instrumental, Music From The Anacostia Delta is a thrilling ride through many styles and flavors, from rousing rockabilly ("Jax Boogie") to laid back jazz ("Harlem Nocturne") as well as electrified Southern Rock ("High Mountain"), at the center of it all the supreme interplay of these three Telecaster masters. Tasty soloing abound, but more importantly, it's the synergy between these three players that sets the stage, each one crafting melodic lines that weave around the other two, and it provides for enjoyable listening every step of the way. The swinging, be-bop sounds of "Bright Mississippi" will get your toes tapping, your fingers snapping, and your air-guitar playing, the guitar trio flying up and down the fretboards of their axes in dazzling fashion. Kudos to Cuneiform for releasing this stunning album, which contains both studio and live recordings. Guitar, and specifically Telecaster fans, seek this out!!

Track Listing
1. Sky King 04:56
2. Jax Boogie 03:25
3. That Was Then 05:24
4. Rock Candy 03:12
5. Running After 04:43
6. High Mountain 05:45
7. Kindred Spirits 04:31
8. Harlem Nocturne 04:35
9. Hudson Unlimited 04:51
10. Bright Mississippi 03:29
11. Sweet Dreams 04:14

Added: September 8th 2019
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 645
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by