Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

The Who: Woodstock Festival 1969

This year was the 50th anniversary of the Woodstock Festival so it can only be fitting to review The Who’s Woodstock Festival 1969 - The Full Broadcast. Going into the festival The Who had four albums under their belts; The Who Sings My Generation (1965), A Quick One (1966), The Who Sell Out (1967) and their ambitious concept album Tommy (1969). Although the band apparently had a fairly miserable time waiting backstage for hours to perform, the band’s performance is legendary (contrary to what Pete Townshend might think).

This performance was really a showcase for the theatrical Tommy and they didn’t disappoint playing most of the album. Daltrey sounds great on “Sparks”, “Pinball Wizard” and “Christmas (Tommy Can You Hear Me)” and of course the band is on fire with Townshend’s propulsive stabs of guitar and Moon’s vicious attack on the drums. One cannot mention The Who without observing the great John Entwistle whose formidable bass lines are always present and that’s a very good thing indeed. The last three tunes; “Summertime Blues”, “Shakin’ All Over” and the blistering angst of “My Generation/Naked Eye Riff” really rocked the house as well.

As with most of these unofficial releases the sound quality isn’t perfect and a bit muddled but that doesn’t take anything away from the band’s playing.

An iconic performance, The Who showed the world how pop and rock music could burst with creativity. As such, anyone at all interested in classic rock should really give this one a listen.

Track Listing:
1. Intro/Heaven & Hell (3:48)
2. I Can’t Explain (2:26)
3. It’s A Boy (0:37)
4. 1921 (2:30)
5. Amazing Journey (3:17)
6. Sparks (5:27)
7. Eyesight To The Blind (The Hawker) (2:05)
8. Christmas (Tommy Can You Hear Me) (3:15)
9. The Acid Queen (3:31)
10. Pinball Wizard (2:43)
11. Abbie Hoffman Incident (0:41)
12. Do You Think It’s Alright (0:45)
13. Fiddle About (1:14)
14. There’s A Doctor (0:21)
15. Go To The Mirror (See Me, Feel Me) (3:20)
16. Smash The Mirror (1:05)
17. I’m Free (2:22)
18. Tommy’s Holiday Camp (0:59)
19. We’re Not Gonna Take It (3:31)
20. Go To The Mirror (See Me, Feel Me) (Take 2) (5:13)
21. Summertime Blues (3:46)
22. Shakin’ All Over (4:40)
23. My Generation/Naked Eye Riff (7:14)

Added: August 26th 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 775
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by