Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Killswitch Engage: Atonement

With the 2013 return of original singer, Jesse Leach, Killswitch Engage have been delivering their brand of Melodic Metalcore with a ferocity and this first album on Metal Blade Records (the band’s 8th overall album), Atonement does not relinquish their brutality.

“Unleashed”, the lead single and opening track on Atonement is a killer way to set off the record. Aggressive and fierce, Leach and the Massachusetts boys are on fire here. This gives way to “The Signal Fire” which features former singer, Howard Jones, sharing the vocals with the guy that he replaced and who would then replace him! Follow all of that?? The melding of the two eras of Killswitch Engage makes these vocal performances outstanding. From brutal vocal cries to killer drumming and their patented in your face guitar riffing, “The Signal Fire” is major highlight for the Killswitch faithful.

Throughout Atonement, Killswitch Engage continue to deliver their intense art form. Their musicianship is at an all-time high and Leach, fresh off of an almost career ending throat surgery, delivers a passionate performance when his clean and melodic vocal styling’s are forged with his aggressive emotive growling. Killswitch Engage are still great at blending the brutal with the melodic and songs like “Ravenous” and “I Am Broken Too” are perfect examples of classic KSE. And Testament singer, the legendary Chuck Billy, lends his guttural growl to the possessed smoking track, “Crownless King”. Along with Jesse Leach’s powerful vocals, guitarists Adam Dutkiewicz and Joel Stroetzel, bassist Mike D’Antonio, and drummer Justin Foley, have all brought their “A” game on Atonement.

Killswitch Engage have not broken their formula of Metalcore on Atonement. It sounds like what you have come to expect from the band, heavy compositions with melodic hooks. Atonement is also an emotional record that explores one’s strength and with singer Jesse Leach’s vocal chord scare, you can imagine the level of inspiration and sense of a second chance that flows within these 11 songs. This is a worthy inclusion in the KSE collection, for sure.

Jesse Leach - Vocals
Adam Dutkiewicz- Guitar
Joel Stroetzel - Guitar
Mike D’Antonio - Bass
Justin Foley - Drums

Track Listing
  1. Unleashed
  2. The Signal Fire
  3. Us Against The World
  4. The Crownless King
  5. I Am Broken Too
  6. As Sure As The Sun Will Rise
  7. Know Your Enemy
  8. Take Control
  9. Ravenous
  10. I Can’t Be The Only One
  11. Bite The Hand That Feeds

Added: August 24th 2019
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 792
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by