Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Trojka: Tre Ut

Bergen, Norway is becoming a hotbed for progressive minded music. Trojka has been together for over a decade and released their debut album I speilvendthet in 2017. The band is back with their sophomore effort titled Tre Ut. This is my initial foray into their music.

This is a really cool album, something a little different to what I have listening to lately. It’s a mixture of progressive, pop and jazz. The music flows beautifully from track to track and the musicianship is deceptively excellent.

The disc begins with the short instrumental “President”. Jazzy electric piano and an easy going flow leads to a cool synth solo and exceptional bass lines, a highlight through much of the album. On “Penger” the sound is very much dominated by keyboards with a slight electronic/jazzy vibe. Lush textural layers and quirky tempo changes adds to the subtle complexity. The sophisticated pop jazz of “Jakten” is another excellent cut with its smooth flow yet complex meter changes. The vocals, sung in Norwegian, are very good, quite catchy and melodic. In “Orkan” the music builds slowly, almost minimal at the start, leading into some exceptional bass lines that anyone who admires skillful musicianship will be able to appreciate. The way the keyboard lines build in complexity in the album ending title track is just really cool and offers another album highlight.

This band has a really nice jazzy prog sound that I found to be both creative and catchy. I hope more people begin to take notice. They certainly deserve the recognition. Highly recommended.

An Apollon Records release.

Band members:
Simon Ulvenes Kverneng (bass, vocals, electric guitar on “Fly”)
Gjert Hermansen (drums, percussion, vocals, bass on “Fly”)
August Riise (keyboards, synthesizers)
Johannes Holtman (acoustic guitar on “Å Se” and “Tre Ut”)
Njål Paulsberg (additional synths and percussion on various tracks)

Track Listing:
1. President (2:11)
2. Penger (4:46)
3. Jakten (4:40)
4. Orkan (3:44)
5. Fly (5:12)
6. Nattevakt (3:17)
7. Forbi Mørket (4:33)
8. Grenseland (4:18)
9. Å Se (3:54)
10. Tre Ut (6:56)

Added: August 23rd 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band @ Facebook
Hits: 1209
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by