Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sun Temple Circus: Sun Temple Circus

I recently became familiar with German musician Tom ‘The Perc’ Redecker after listening to a couple Electric Family discs. That band was formed in the ‘90s and has decided Krautrock/psychedelic flavourings. His latest foray into the realm of Kraut and psychedelic is his collaboration with Harry Payuta, his Electric Family bandmate.

Here is Sun Temple Circus’ full lineup:
Tom Redecker (vocals, 12 string guitar, keyboards)
Harry Payuta (bass, sitar, backing vocals)
Marlon Klein (drums, percussion)
Jochen Schoberth (electric guitars)
Alpha Halley (keyboards on #4)
Uli Bösking (mandola on #2,4)
Peter Apel (electric guitar on #5)
Tony McLoughlin (vocals on #5)
Thomas Blumensaat (drums on #6)

If you are into psychedelic rock music with an ethnic and Krautrock bent this is the CD for you. The disc was originally released as a limited vinyl back in 2015 but now, thanks to Sireena Records it is available on CD with a couple of bonus tracks. Most of the album was recorded at the Lagerhaus in Bremen, Germany on May 28, 2014 during the band’s tour. The bonus tracks were also recorded live earlier that same month.

The opening track “Out of India” sounds like the title as Payuta’s sitar is a definite highlight and dare I say star of the show. His crystal clear notes and imaginative progressions are both spellbinding and hypnotic creating an ethno/psych sound that should entrance any fan of the genre(s). The keyboards and guitar work from Redecker is also noteworthy providing moody layers of trippiness that again exudes that trance-like mystifying quality. With “Lighthouse” the trippy jams continue, this time with Redecker’s deep lead vocals added to the mix. His voice has similarities to Mark Knopfler, a sort of half sing/half speak approach that completely works here. The groove is nicely developed and when the tempo speeds up the music becomes quite intense. Redecker’s guitar is also at the forefront providing clear stabbing notes and melodic strums. All six tracks are excellent including the extended jam workouts and heavy drums/percussion in “Sun Killer” and the last tune “Slide Out, Slide In”, a more plaintive and easy flowing slice of hypnotic rock.

Sun Temple Circus will be an excellent find for many fans of psychedelic music. I’m very glad to have made it’s acquaintance.

Track Listing:
1. Out of India (6:05)
2. Lighthouse (10:15)
3. Et Moi, Et Moi, Et Moi (5:25)
4. Sun Madness (14 :10)
Bonus Tracks
5. Sun Killer (7 :40)
6. Slide Out, Slide In (6 :18)

Added: July 23rd 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label's Official Site
Hits: 697
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by