Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Gallagher, Rory: Blues (3CD Box Set)

Near nearing 25 years since his death, the world still can't get enough of Rory Gallagher, the late guitarist's music and playing proving to be a tremendous influence on so many listeners and musicians, despite him not exactly being a household name. Blues is a new 3CD box set from the Gallagher estate that dives into the vault for 36 mostly unreleased tracks, one disc featuring all studio material, one all acoustic, and one with sizzling live tracks. There is also a shorter single disc compilation, but I'm not sure who would want to miss out on all the riches contained within the full set.

The studio CD includes some cool covers and originals, some you might be hearing for the first time, and others alternate takes and recordings from some familiar favorites. Sonny Boy Williamson's "Don't Start Me Talking" is given a raucous and fiery rendition, slide guitar breathing fire over some grinding rhythms, and other blues staples like Muddy Waters' "I'm Ready" (featuring Muddy himself!) and Freddie King's "Tore Down" are sensational, Gallagher staying true to the arrangements but giving them his own stamp. Other favorites here include a great version of "A Million Miles Away", "Bullfrog Blues", "Nothin' But the Devil", and "As The Crow Flies", all sizzling bluesy classics, making this the disc in this collection for the blues purists.

Over on CD number 2 we get a dozen acoustic blues tracks, some stripped down with just Rory and others with a backing band. This is obviously the more laid back of the three sets here, but no less remarkable, showing how the guitarist can easily shine letting his voice do the talking along with his remarkable acoustic guitar and bottleneck slide. Waters' "Blow Wind Blow" is great, as are other energetic and passionate tracks like "Secret Agent", "Who's That Coming", "Whole Lot of People", and "Pistol Slapper Blues".

For many, it's the live disc that's going to provide the most joy here, and admittedly that's the one I was looking forward to the most. Rory Gallagher was a beast on stage, and you can hear that fire all over the live CD, which let's his blues-rock side come out in full force. With ex-Cream legend Jack Bruce alongside him, the guitarist engages in a furious take on the classic "Born Under a Bad Sign", blisters on the Junior Wells favorite "Messin' with the Kid", and his fiery licks & solos are all over spirited renditions of "Nothin' But the Devil", "Garbage Man Blues", and he's trading hot lines with the mighty Albert King on "You Upset Me". Killer stuff all around, all recorded at various locations and times throughout Rory's career.

If you are a Rory Gallagher fan, Blues is a must for your collection. Each CD has a different mood, so you can reach for whatever disc is right for the kind of Rory Gallagher music you are feeling at the time, whether it be straight blues, acoustic, or rocking live cuts. Wonderful stuff, and a reminder of just how much of a musical treasure this guy really was.

Track Listing - 3 CD Deluxe Edition

CD 1 - Electric Blues 1. Don’t Start Me Talkin’ (Unreleased track from the Jinx album sessions 1982)
2. Nothin’ But The Devil (Unreleased track from the Against The Grain album sessions 1975)
3. Tore Down (Unreleased track from the Blueprint album sessions 1973)
4. Off The Handle (Unreleased session Paul Jones Show BBC Radio 1986)
5. I Could’ve Had Religion (Unreleased WNCR Cleveland radio session from 1972)
6. As the Crow Flies (Unreleased track from Tattoo album sessions 1973)
7. A Million Miles Away (Unreleased BBC Radio 1 Session 1973)
8. Should’ve Learnt My Lesson (Outtake from Deuce album sessions 1971)
9. Leaving Town Blues (Tribute track from Peter Green ‘Rattlesnake Guitar’ 1994)
10. Drop Down Baby (Rory guest guitar on Lonnie Donegan’s “Puttin’ On The Style” album 1978
11. I’m Ready (Guest guitarist on Muddy Waters ‘London Sessions’ album 1971)
12. Bullfrog Blues (Unreleased WNCR Cleveland radio session from 1972)

CD 2 - Acoustic Blues
1. Who’s That Coming (Acoustic outtake from Tattoo album sessions 1973)
2. Should’ve Learnt My Lesson (Acoustic outtake from Deuce album sessions 1971)
3. Prison Blues (Unreleased track from Blueprint album sessions 1973)
4. Secret Agent (Unreleased acoustic version from RTE Irish TV 1976)
5. Blow Wind Blow (Unreleased WNCR Cleveland radio session from 1972)
6. Bankers Blues (Outtake from the Blueprint album sessions 1973)
7. Whole Lot Of People (Acoustic outtake from Deuce album sessions 1971)
8. Loanshark Blues (Unreleased acoustic version from German TV 1987)
9. Pistol Slapper Blues (Unreleased acoustic version from Irish TV 1976)
10. Can’t Be Satisfied (Unreleased Radio FFN session from 1992)
11. Want Ad Blues (Unreleased RTE Radio Two Dave Fanning session 1988)
12. Walkin’ Blues (Unreleased acoustic version from RTE Irish TV 1987)

CD 3 - Live Blues
1. When My Baby She Left Me (Unreleased track from Glasgow Apollo concert 1982)
2. Nothin’ But The Devil (Unreleased track from Glasgow Apollo concert 1982)
3. What In The World (Unreleased track from Glasgow Apollo concert 1982)
4. I Wonder Who (Unreleased live track from late 1980s)
5. Messin’ With The Kid (Unreleased track from Sheffield City Hall concert 1977)
6. Tore Down (Unreleased track from Newcastle City Hall concert 1977)
7. Garbage Man Blues (Unreleased track from Sheffield City Hall concert 1977)
8. All Around Man (Unreleased track from BBC OGWT Special 1976)
9. Born Under A Bad Sign (Unreleased track from Rockpalast 1991 w/ Jack Bruce)
10. You Upset Me (Unreleased guest performance from Albert King album ‘Live’ 1975)
11. Comin’ Home Baby (Unreleased track from 1989 concert with Chris Barber Band)
12. Rory Talking Blues (Interview track of Rory talking about the blues)

Added: July 18th 2019
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Artist Facebook Page
Hits: 857
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by