Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Extremities: Gaia

Extreme metal band Extremities formed in 2015 and is based out of Eindhoven, Netherlands. They released a debut EP in 2016, followed by their first full length album titled Gaia. Right from the get go the band bludgeon the listener with a super-fast and distorted guitar and bass riff. It’s an aural assault that will certainly get your attention. Jerky drum rhythms are inserted into what is a very intense album opener titled “Colossus”. And then the growls start, followed by talking vocals and muffled screams. It’s not all heavy however as the band incorporate dreamy atmospherics of guitar and keys. Although the vocals became a bit intense near the end for me there is no doubt this band has the chops to compete with the metal heavyweights. The second track “Circular Motions” is a much less pummeling affair. An ambient guitar generated atmosphere begins before the semi heavy guitar riffs enter, but not nearly as extreme as the first track. The vocals are mostly clean and pretty catchy and definitely more easy on the ears. The keyboards also play a strong supporting role adding a softer symphonic element. In truth, this is more my cup of tea. “Emissary” gets back on the heavy track with screaming/growled vocals and heavy metal pounding. Clean singing does appear providing good contrast with the extreme vocalizing and again the band delves into a cool atmospheric part that relieves the heaviness just a little before exploding into double bass drum aggressiveness.

My favourite track is the Haken inspired “Hydrosphere”. The vocal arrangement really has a Haken vibe as does the music; really tasty guitar riffs and gorgeous builds.

The disc ends with the seventeen minute “The Inward Eye”. The guitar riff again reminds me of something Haken might do or even Leprous. That, in and of itself is high praise. The layers of clean guitar and majestic keys sound great and the clean vocals are superb. The saxophone provided by Ferry Luiten is an excellent touch. It’s an imaginative and creative progressive metal epic with differing shades of heavy and light.

Extremities is a band to look out for anyone interested in extreme technical/progressive metal. It will be interesting to see how they evolve on their next album.

A Painted Bass Records release.

Band personnel:
Thimo Franssen (vocals)
David Luiten (guitar, keyboards, backing vocals)
Maarten Stoelhorst (guitar)
Bart Merkus (bass guitar, cello, backing vocals)
Pim Goverde (drums and percussion)

Track Listing:
1. Colossus (7:53)
2. Circular Motions (6:23)
3. Emissary (5:47)
4. Hydrosphere (8:21)
5. War (4:41)
6. Reanimate (4:43)
7. Through the Dreamscape (7:16)
8. The Inward Eye (17:57)
i. Hinterland
ii. The Principle of Perpetuity
iii. Home Away from Home

Added: July 16th 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 229
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by