Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Gypsy Rose: Reloaded

Quick history lesson time! The band Gypsy Rose was founded back in 1981 in Sweden by Håkan Gustafsson and Martin Kronlund, but their self-titled debut album was only released in 2005. The band struggled, as so many others in the melodic rock genre did with labels collapsing and a general lack of traction for the type of music which they were proffering. The band actually broke up in 1993, but thanks to Andrew McNeice at the group got together again in 2004 and started recordings in Martin Kronlund’s studio. Now, in 2019, the album is re-released on CD and digital under the new name Reloaded with a brand new cover, a nice re-mastering by Martin Kronlund and with a bonus track "Solitude" added.

I mostly associate Martin Kronlund with the time that he lent his guitar and, I think, production chops to White Wolf when they came back from the dead a la Gypsy Rose. Their 2007 album Victim of the Spotlight was a favourite of mine as was their live album from a couple of years later. "Dreams are Forever" from said opus was a tune which made it right to the top of my playlist and it was a kind of pop metal tune which would have fitted very nicely on Reloaded which is just full of top tunes.

To me the most obvious touchstone is the poppier end of the Scorpions output especially "Moonlight" which could have leapt straight off Crazy World and possibly been a hit in the late 1980s/early 1990s. Håkan Gustafsson's voice has a distinct yet subtle hint of Klaus Meine if not quite as heavily accented. In many ways the tough yet tender melodic tunes are the kind of tracks which many long term Bon Jovi fans are wanting from the New Jersey men right now and that is without doubt a good thing. It may no longer be a commercial thing, but it's a good thing. Another good thing is the very fine fret work in evidence on every single number but especially on the opening song "When You Leave at Night" which really gets things off to a great start. The quality remains high throughout so if you hanker after some classic rock/pop/metal dig this one out from whatever retailer you use.

Track Listing:
  1. When You Leave At Night
  2. You Drive Me Crazy
  3. Promise To Stay
  4. Moonlight
  5. You Are The One
  6. Queen Of The Night
  7. Burning
  8. Light Up My Way
  9. December Night
  10. Fender 59′
  11. The Look In Your Eye
  12. Solitude

Added: July 10th 2019
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: More Information
Hits: 941
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by