Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

The Ed Palermo Big Band: A Lousy Day in Harlem

Though he's normally known for reinventing the works of Frank Zappa, composer & alto saxophonist Ed Palermo and his Big Band decide to stick to straight jazz here on A Lousy Day in Harlem, their brand new album for Sky Cat Records. Instead of Zappa, the focus is on some classics from Duke Ellington, Thelonius Monk, John Coltrane, and Egberto Gismonte, as well as a healthy dose of Palermo originals. It's a thrilling set of big band jazz, played by:

The Cats and Kittens of The Ed Palermo Big Band:
CLIFF LYONS - alto sax, clarinet, soprano sax on “Affinity”
PHIL CHESTER - alto sax, soprano sax, flute, piccolo
BILL STRAUB - tenor sax, clarinet, flute
BEN KONO - tenor sax, flute, oboe
BARBARA CIFELLI - baritone sax, bass clarinet, Eb mutant clarinet


MATT INGMAN (bass trombone)


Electric Bass:



Yep, that's some line-up! Kicking off with "Laurie Frink", a sizzling Palermo original, and you immediately get swept away with some addicting melodies, a wealth of groove, and a plethora of solos, including some soaring sax solos courtesy of Chester & Straub. "Affinity" is less frantic, but chock full of melody & atmosphere, while Ellington's "Brasilliance" bubbles & boils, tricky drum fills flailing away underneath some complex time signatures, wild piano, and blazing horns. The quirky "Like Lee Morgan" is a perfect homage to none other than Morgan himself, the full horn & reed section up front and center, and Coltrane's "Giant Steps" is just magnificent, Straub & Kono delivering some incredible, melodic solos that would have made the master proud. "Gargoyles" is another winner here, screaming sax from Kono and a sizzling trumpet jaunt courtesy Bailey two of the highlights of an otherwise engaging track that is what big band jazz is all about.

From start to finish, A Lousy Day in Harlem is anything but 'lousy', the album full of thrilling performances, stellar covers, and wonderful originals. Ed Palermo and his band have done it again people, do not miss this one!!

Track Listing
1. Laurie Frink 08:27
2. Affinity 05:14
3. Brasilliance 05:36
4. Sanfona 06:02
5. Like Lee Morgan 02:32
6. The One with the Balloon 07:03
7. Minority 03:38
8. The Cowboy Song 08:07
9. Well You Needn't 03:02
10. Giant Steps 04:04
11. Next Year 07:33
12. Gargoyles 07:47
13. This Won't Take Long 02:21

Added: June 29th 2019
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 1189
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by