Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mythopoeic Mind: Mythopoetry

Mythopoeic Mind is a Norwegian band that formed in 2018 by Panzerpappa’s saxophonist Steinar Børve. Steinar got a bunch of his Panzerpappa’s bandmates together along with a few other musicians to release their debut album titled Mythopoetry. The band’s name is rather interesting in that it refers to pre-scientific thought, more along the lines of thought that produces myths. I am not sure if this is a concept album but given the album title it certainly could be.

Getting to the music you will hear bits of Canterbury and jazz tied together with a full onslaught of symphonic progressive rock. The first track “Prologue Song” is a slow symphonic piece with lush keyboards and melodic trumpet and saxophone. Next is “Prey” with a slightly angular edge but softened with melodic vocals. The guitar and keyboard interplay is really quite masterful amping up the complexity. The ten minute “Mount Doom” is an instrumental track starting with a repeating keyboard and guitar and fairly urgent tempo. A little Canterbury and jazz buried around the edges amidst complex symphonic passages and moments of drama near song’s end. Quite a riveting piece that many prog fans should love. “Sailor’s Disgrace” is the other long track featuring an odd tempo, gentle vocals and great pastoral-like keyboards. The Canterbury influence is easily heard in this one. The keyboard soaked soundscape leads to a lovely sax solo from Børve followed by a faster tempo and a bit heavier sound design. The acoustic guitar is also a nice touch. The band shows much creativity in this one as it does throughout all six tracks.

Mythopoeic Mind have made an excellent symphonic prog album with Mythopetry. One that will reward listeners after many spins. Highly recommended.

An Apollon Records release.

The Players:
Päl Selsjord Bjørseth (keyboards, trumpet)
Ola Mile Bruland (bass)
Arild Brøter (drums)
Steinar Børve (saxophones, EWI, keyboards, vocals, programming)
Trond Gjellum (percussion)
Kjetil Laumann (vocals)
Jarle G. Storløkken (acoustic and electric guitars)
Anders Krabberød (Chapman stick on 3)
Torgeir W. Sørbye (synths on 6)

Track Listing:
1. Prologue Song
2. Prey
3. Mount Doom
4. Train Of Mind
5. Sailor’s Disgrace
6. Epilogue Song

Added: June 12th 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 1495
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by