Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Kinetic Element: The Face of Life

Kinetic Element have been around since 2006, and have released three albums thus far, including their latest titled The Face of Life. The band was formed by Mike Visaggio who had recently released a solo album but needed some players to execute it live, hence Kinetic Element was born. I reviewed their second album Travelog which I thought was an excellent release. Since that album there has been a couple of changes to the band, most notably Peter Matuchniak (Evolve IV, Gekko Project) on guitars.

I have to say the band has returned with an excellent disc of classic inspired symphonic progressive rock. There are five tracks starting with “Epistle”, a rocking but sophisticated slice of heavy prog with edgy guitar riffs and scintillating organ. The sound dips into mellower moments as well and the melodies are truly inspired. The album’s first epic titled “All Open Eyes” is next and it is a stunning exploration of sounds inspired by the likes of Spock’s Beard, Glass Hammer and Yes. The harmonies, solos and symphonic dramatics should really satisfy the band’s fans. At times the guitar work has a Steve Howe vibe which is a huge compliment to Matuchniak. The album’s second epic is the almost twenty minute title track. A moody intro of piano and guitar evolve into fantastic band interplay with tricky rhythms and adventurous instrumentation. This one has a decided Kansas feel, especially the organ and fast tempo. Some really nice melodies in this one, including an outstanding vocal arrangement. Later in the song the vocalist even has a hint of Jon Anderson and along with some heavy bass the Yes comparison is unavoidable. “Lost Words” is a gentle symphonic piece featuring soaring vocals and melodic synths. This is probably the disc’s catchiest track. The bonus track “Lost Words” is essentially the previous song minus the moody intro.

So there you have it. Kinetic Element have done themselves proud with The Face of Life. I’m sure it will still be around for many ‘best album’ lists come the end of the year. Another excellent release from Melodic Revolution Records.

Track Listing:
1. Epistle (7:06)
2. All Open Eyes (15:52)
3. The Face of Life (19:35)
4. Last Words (4:07)
5. Lost Words (bonus track) (2:55)

Added: June 12th 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1307
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by