Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Claudio Delgift: The Essential Claudio Delgift

You would think having seven solo albums would garner a whole lot of attention but such is not the case with Argentinian Claudio Rodriquez, otherwise known as Claudio Delgift or as just ‘C’. His first few releases have only been available digitally but with the help of Rock Company his latest titled The Essential Claudio Delgift is issued on CD so perhaps this will end up finding a larger market.

This is essentially a one man band as Claudio handles vocals, guitars, bass and keyboards. Numerous drummers appear throughout. The album serves as a collection of songs culled from his previous digital productions, a ‘best of’ of sorts.

Most of the songs straddle the line between melodic and progressive rock. Claudio is an excellent guitarist, his fills and rhythms, both acoustic and electric highlight every track. His playing is often pretty complex giving these tracks an extra something that helps them stand out above others in what is a very crowded genre. What might not go down so well are Claudio’s vocals. They are not terrible but his voice lacks power and comes across a little thin in places. Like I said, not terrible, just okay for me. Proggy melodic rock is the order of the day in the first track “Tricapsule” highlighted by great bass lines and guitar work. His guitar playing also shines on “Vortex” and the Rush-like “Another Stage” where is complex guitar lines and rhythms have an Alex Lifeson feel. “Clovers In The Field” is another catchy guitar led piece as is the proggy “Ascent Of The Core/Descent Of The Stars”, one of the album’s best tracks. His vocals certainly work better when he doesn’t try to stretch out his voice.

If not for the vocals this one would have easily earned four stars. As it stands, 3.5 stars it is. An enjoyable listen nevertheless.

Track Listing:
1. Tricapsule (3:38)
2. Vortex (5:18)
3. Another Stage (5:25)
4. Clovers In The Field (3:00)
5. To Think, To Say, To Do (4:51)
6. Ease And Comfort In The Silence Of Hearts Entwined (6:21)
7. The World As A Whole (8:52)
8. Stereotypes (4:52)
9. Ascent Of The Core/Descent Of The Stars (8:00)
10. Bonds (2:16)
11. Mother Earth Network (7:38)
12. A Promise Of Light And Wonder (8:56)

Added: May 20th 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist @ Bandcamp
Hits: 1076
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by