Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Shumaun: One Day Closer to Yesterday

Here is another impressive new-ish band that have really made a bold statement with their sophomore effort. The band is Shumaun and their new album is titled One Day Closer to Yesterday. The Virginia based quartet features Farhad Hossain (vocals, acoustic and electric guitars, keyboards), Jose Mora (bass guitar), Tyler Kim (acoustic and electric guitars) and Tanvir Tomal (drums).

The band blends heavy progressive/alternative rock with progressive metal and even a bit of AOR. This stuff is incredibly catchy, mostly due to the excellent vocals of Hossain. Sometimes I find the emphasis on lead vocals rather annoying, especially if the vocals are not up to snuff. That is far from the case here. His vocals are superbly melodic and had me completely transfixed throughout the disc’s fifty-two minute running time.

A deep droning synth and evolving piano begins the highly textural “Sensus Divinitatis”. The speaker to speaker electronics are pretty cool as is the pulsating beat ala Pink Floyd. “The Writing’s on the Wall” is more heavy prog with an alternative element. The aggressive vocals are very effective. On “Fear Is” a melodic guitar arpeggio combined with heavier progressive metal riffage and excellent bass are album highlights. Again I hear touches of alternative rock blended with more technical progressive metal. Another stand out track is the melodic and heavy “Nafsi Ammara” with an excellent riff progression , stellar drums and bass and nice keyboard layerings. The mellower verse adds a moody atmosphere, in contrast to the hard hitting chorus. The album ending title track is the longest song mixing softer soundscapes with heavy electronics and moody voice samples. A very dramatic and satisfying album closer.

One Day Closer to Yesterday is an excellent second album from a promising young band. Progressive metal fans will want to check this one out. Recommended.

Track Listing:
1. Sensus Divinitatis (2:37)
2. The Writing’s on the Wall (4:31)
3. Fear Is (5:07)
4. Nafsi Ammara (4:56)
5. City of Gold (1:41)
6. Central Station (4:32)
7. Prove Yourself (3:40)
8. Go (4:54)
9. Remember Me and I Will Remember You (4:49)
10. One Day Closer to Yesterday (15:11)

Added: May 17th 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1654
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by