Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Fervent Mind: Tranquilize

Fervent Mind is a relatively new band based out of Oslo, Norway. The band formed in 2014 with the lineup of Live Sollid Schulerud (vocals, electronics, synths), Simen Skrebergene (electric guitar), Martin Sandvik Gjerde (keyboards), Martin Skrebergene (electric bass), Audun Barsten Johnsen (synth, organ, Wurlitzer) and Henrik Håland (drums).

Their debut album is titled Tranquilize and it is a rather tough nut to crack but I don’t mean that in a negative way. These songs will take some time as the band draws from a myriad of influences from Radiohead to Porcupine Tree and their music encapsulates bits and pieces of different genres including post rock, alternative, metal, jazz and dream pop. As you might expect, being the band is from Norway, the music can be quite melancholic and that is true to some extent. However, the band do a great job of mixing different textures and moods so as not to sound one dimensional.

“A Series of Fragments” is a somber album opener, very soft and wistful until the beat starts near song’s end. It’s a very textural piece with many layers that enhance the moodiness. This leads directly to the next track “Torrid”, one part ethereal/one part heavy riffs. The guitar riffs burst forth with furry highlighting the song’s metallic elements. “Fervent” is both dream pop and heavy riffage, having an experimental edge when the riffs get intense. The bass work really stands out in this one. Experimental fragments of sound begin “Sleeping Strange”, as a forceful drum beat and piano course through the piece . The vocals are serene and dreamy and the effects continue throughout. The strange effects continue in “Crystal”, another moody and abstract piece. The keyboard melody is quite nice and the song flows nicely as the dreamier elements run their course. Heavy drums and deep rumbling bass begin “Runaway Bride” and Sollid’s vocals are melodic and tuneful, sometimes soaring and the riffs get heavier adding more heft. This one has an alternative, slightly psychedelic bent. Some great organ as well. “All Sounds Muted” might be my favourite as the band really play with a heavy intent.

Overall then, Tranquilize is a highly enjoyable and creative piece of music not afraid to push against the norms of popular music. For that, this band must be applauded.

A Karisma Records release.

Track Listing:
1. A Series of Fragments
2. Torrid
3. Fervent
4. Sleeping Strange
5. Crystal
6. Runaway Bride
7. All Sounds Muted
8. Disappearing into the Masses Part 1
9. Disappearing into the Masses Part 2
10. Tongues
11. Strain

Added: May 9th 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band on Facebook
Hits: 935
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by