Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

DarWin: Origin Of Species

In this Sci Fi prog rock concept double album by DarWin, a project featuring the likes of drummer Simon Phillips, guitarist Greg Howe, bassist/vocalist Matt Bissonette, and many others, we are truly taken on a journey in this debut effort. Darwin sets the bar extremely high, from the kickoff track "For Humanity" which is a strong stylistic opener with absolutely perfect playing .

Moving nicely and smoothly along into "The Last Chance", a hard and heavy hitting track that is about as good as it truly gets, and into later tracks like "Escape The Maze", which is a song that displays a true wall of sound in its own unique way.

The album is definitely a treat to the ears and honestly to a degree keeps you guessing with cuts like "Gummy Bear" , which is a unique track smooth in its delivery yet still in my opinion a bit of an odd placement .

The first disc closes out with "Forever" , a breath of fresh air with a 30 Seconds To Mars Vibe. The second disc hits the ground running with "War Against My Mind" , a powerful song with flawless guitar work and is slick gem in this collection .

The album truly doesn't miss a beat and honestly seems to pick up steam with later tracks like "Modern Insanity", which has a fun eighties feel to it. Then there is the perfection that is "Cosmic Rays" with vocals from Koko Rhoda which is honestly a flawless track and a personal favorite of mine .

"Just One More Day" , dishes up a much needed dose of rock truly coming to life with with a far heavier vibe . The album closes out with "Prolog / For Humanity" which fills in any gaps the listener may have in the overall futuristic concept albums overall story, going out heavy and leaving no doubt that this is a album you will be listening to often .

Track List
Disc one
  1. For Humanity
  2. The Last Chance
  3. Taking Chances
  4. Escape The Maze
  5. Walk Away From Earth
  6. Gummy Bear
  7. Forever

Disc Two
  1. War Against My Mind
  2. Artificial
  3. One Horizon
  4. Modern Insanity
  5. Cosmic Rays
  6. Life Is A Mystery
  7. Slowly Melting
  8. Rise
  9. Just One More Day
  10. Prologue / For Humanity

Added: May 8th 2019
Reviewer: John Patrick Robbins
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1428
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by