Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Vltimas: Something Wicked Marches In

You’re probably familiar with the expression “something wicked this way comes.” Shakespeare used it to refer to Macbeth and Ray Bradbury used it as a book title. On this album, Vltimas intensifies it so that the wicked thing is even more aggressive in its approach and purpose. Given that the title track also comes first, it would seem that the band really wants to smash down the doors and blow us all away. And they do.

This is one of those debut albums that gives listeners more than they could ever expect. It helps that the band is basically a supergroup made up of musical veterans like Flo Mounier (Cryptopsy), David Vincent (ex-Morbid Angel) and band mastermind Rune “Blasphemer” Eriksen (ex-Mayhem, Aura Noir). I’m not sure how these guys found each other, but they play like they’ve always known what they want and that they have the skills to make it happen. Even though the band is largely driven by Rune’s creativity, this isn’t a one-man job. He chose an excellent drummer in Flo Mounier. His beats are dense, aggressive, and interesting. Rune also chose a superb vocalist in David Vincent. His voice is rough, but he does something more than growl and scream. Instead, he carries both the vocal rhythm and the lyrics as clearly as death metal allows. Rune’s guitar playing is just as impressive. Not only does he keep up with the blistering pace of the drums, he also plays as if he had an extra set of fingers at the ready.

The album opens strong with the title track and then quickly moves into the equally solid “Praevalidus.” I’m not up on my Latin terms, but I’m pretty sure “praevalidus” describes something powerful. The next track “Total Destroy” also suggests an unbeatable force. Do you sense a theme here? Instead of merely flexing their muscles, Vltimas is declaring victory. Fortunately, their style of death metal may warrant at least one victory lap. Even the most skeptical listeners cannot honestly deny this band’s overall power. Just listen to tracks like “Diabolus Est Sanguis” or “Marching On” and you’ll hear Death Metal played with so much energy that you’ll move out of the way.

Track Listing:
1. Something Wicked Marches In
2. Praevalidus
. Total Destroy
4. Monolith
5. Truth and Consequence
6. Last Ones Alive Win Nothing
7. Everlasting
8. Diabolus Est Sanguis
9. Marching On

Added: May 1st 2019
Reviewer: Carl Sederholm
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 413
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by