Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Jim Peterik & World Stage: Winds of Change

Let’s get straight to it shall we? This is a monumentally great melodic rock album from the genius pen of Jim Peterik. If you’re reading this review you don’t need me to spell out the man’s accomplishments but like me you might be pleased to learn that this World Stage album, for once doesn’t feature a version of Peterik ‘s first big hit "Vehicle" so we’re already off to a racing start!

What we do have is a collection of brilliant songs with the customary upbeat Peterik lyrics, stellar guitar work and vocals from many heavyweights of the AOR/ melodic rock genres such as...deep breath...Danny Vaughn, Don Barnes, Mike Reno, Kevins Cronin and Chalfont, Toby Hitchcock and the incomparably brilliant Dennis De Young. With all this talent on great form quality is guaranteed.

There’s so much to love on this album it’s almost churlish not to write about each song but I have a life to live so here’s the highlights. The opening trio of the title track with Don Barnes and now ex-38 Special guitarist Danny Chauncey gets things off in a rocking style before the magnificent "Without a Bullet Being Fired" which features not only Mike Reno but ultra cheesy bullet effects in a song about bullets not being fired! This is typical Peterik cheesiness, who can forget the horns in Pride of Lions’ "Tall Ships"? The man has form on the cheese scale. Arguably the best track is "Proof of Heaven" with Dennis De Young which is easily as good as anything on the Styx album The Mission if not better and I love said record.

There’s so much other good stuff, not asingle duff track in fact but I would like to highlight "The Hand I Was Dealt" featuring Danny Vaughn which is a great story song and Vaughn is in great voice - I just wish that the vocals were only him and not Peterik. In fact, Peterik’s vocal interjections on just about every song are the only thing about the album I don’t like. So many great voices and Jim just isn’t one. He’s a very good guitarist though and a superb songsmith as evidence on the too catchy "I Will What I Want" which is sung by Night Ranger’s Kelly Keagy and if that isn’t enough there’s a super appearance from the beyond the realm by Jimi Jamison which is a real treat just like the whole album.

Track Listing:
1. Winds Of Change
2. Without A Bullet Being Fired
3. Proof Of Heaven
4. Sometimes You Just Want More
5. Home Fires
6. Just For You
7. The Hand I Was Dealt
8. Where Eagles Dare
9. I Will What I Want
10. You're Always There
11. Avalanche
12. Love You All Over The World

Added: May 1st 2019
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 655
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by