Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mark Feldman’s Level 5: The Sybil EP

In the mid-2000s, Magna Carta Records and its Magnatude offshoot released a handful of albums by Israeli guitarist Oz Noy, who now has partnered with veteran drummer Mark Feldman to forge an instrumental tour de force quartet dubbed Level 5. Rounding out the New York City band is Will Lee on bass and Adam Klipple on keys.

Noy wrote the three songs on The Sybil EP, 20 minutes of fresh and crisp, twisty and turny prog that’s instantly accessible and memorable. Noy left titling the tracks up to Feldman, who explains the process thusly in the EP’s promotional materials: “I named the tunes using the feeling that I got from listening to the songs that Oz was writing. For example, the tune ‘Sybil,’ which jumps from chilled-out funk to aggressive rock in a heartbeat, reminded me of the moodiness and unpredictability of some people I’ve known. The tune ‘Jabber Jaw’ sounds like a fiery argument between a couple,” and ‘Swagger’ made me think about the sensual saunter of an old flame.”

That, in essence, sums up The Sybil EP, which uses Jeff Beck’s classic rock-fusion approach as a template. Now, where’s the full-length debut?

Track Listing:
1. Sybil
2. Swagger
3. Jabber Jaw

Added: April 29th 2019
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Official Level 5 Website
Hits: 1014
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by