Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

RPWL: Tales From Outer Space

Although numerous live albums have come and gone in the meantime, it’s been five years since German prog smoothsters RPWL last regaled us with a studio album. During that time the protagonists have also revealed quite a number of solo endeavours and guest slots, so Yogi Lang (vocals), Kalle Wallner (guitar and now also bass), Markus Jehle (keys) and Marc Turiaux (drums) have hardly been idle. However, that they return with Tales From Outer Space should maybe explain where the majority of that time has been focused, a loosely based concept album now the order of the day as we look down on Earth and hope to decipher what any visitors from ‘out there’ would make of us. As ever with most good sci-fi, what’s actually going on here is that RPWL are holding a mirror up to us and asking if we like what we see, whether that be chaos, destruction, political madness or nepotism. Opening salvo “A New World” finds alien beings landing on our planet, encountering RPWL, being appalled by the lifeforms the band reveal us to be and quickly scarpering again. All the while the mid-paced slide of melodic prog that this band have long been specialists in plays out and welcomes you into a world that was first inhabited by Pink Floyd but which, in their long absence, RPWL have gleefully claimed to be their own.

“Welcome To The Freakshow” adds a sing along chorus that simply refuses to dislodge from the memory and quickly reminds how devastatingly catchy the music that this outfit produce can be - although the clatter-echo drums and surging keys might just be too overtly Floydian for those who prefer their influences to be nodded at rather than worshipped. A spacier (natch) lilt is added to the bending guitar themes that wish we were here during “Light Of The World” (where ex-Floyd and David Gilmour bassist Guy Pratt guests) but there’s no denying it’s also enigmatically uplifting. Whereas the terse violin strikes at the core of “Not Our Place To Be” add a tension that’s not often found in the RPWL armoury. Coming mid album and replete with a deeper gouge of guitars it’s a nice change of tack, even if the pace still refuses to go above steady and determined. The chiming guitars of “What I Really Need” make it difficult not to mention U2 as the notes are picked out clearly and a few more commercial ELP like crescendos add a poppier edge than might be expected, although when the theme returns mid-song, oddly, it’s actually synth era-Rush that springs to mind. The more sprawling “Give Birth To The Sun” allows ample time for Wallner and Jehle to truly stretch out as the instrumental sections bring touches of everyone from John Mitchell (Arena/Lonely Robot) to Jean Michel Jarre into play, before “Far Away From Here” pretty much takes us back to where we began, a slow, swooshing surge of Floyd to be found in the mood, tempo and guitar sound. In essence this is RPWL and once again the converted to their cause will be in full adulation of their heroes. Those that cry plagiarism will likely - and quite rightly - continue in the same vein. However, if they’d stop to listen they’d discover that Tales From Outer Space is, undoubtedly, rather good.

Track Listing
1. A New World

2. Welcome To The Freak Show

3. Light Of The World

4. Not Our Place To Be

5. What I Really Need

6. Give Birth To The Sun

7. Far Away From Home

Added: September 8th 2019
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Tales From Outer Space @ RPWL
Hits: 1763
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

RPWL: Tales From Outer Space
Posted by Jon Neudorf, SoT Staff Writer on 2019-09-08 06:26:17
My Score:

RPWL is one of those bands that initially got me interested in the progressive rock revival in the ‘80s, ‘90s and early 2000s. The band forged their beginning in Freising, Germany in 1997 as a Pink Floyd cover band. They released their debut album titled God Has Failed in 2000. Although I have not heard every album from the band (own Trying to Kiss The Sun, The RPWL Experience, Stock, Beyond Man And Time, Wanted, Tales From Outer Space) I am quite well versed in their output and can say their most recent album Tales From Outer Space is another gem in a discography full of them.

The disc consists of five tracks totaling approximately fifty minutes of music. Unlike the past couple of albums this is not a conceptual piece but it does have a science fiction theme which I think is a great avenue for the band to explore. Each tune tells a space related story but also connects the Earth and how we haven’t done a very good job of managing our planet. A very relevant story to say the least. The album opens with “A New World” and its abundant use of trippy keyboards and electronic effects. Lang’s vocals resemble David Gilmour, especially in the lower range, so the Floyd comparisons will no doubt be made and there are certain elements linking the two bands. For example, the guitar work of Wallner, who is a fine player in his own right does draw the occasional comparison. Some of his tones and long drawn out chords do recall some of Gilmour’s fine playing. The bottom line is this is just an excellent heavy progressive rock tune. On “Welcome To The Freak Show” the sound is a bit mellower and just as tasty with another great melody. Wallner’s guitar work again stands out. Progressive ear candy if you will. On the excellent “Light Of The World” Wallner’s guitar is so expressive and delivers so much feel, any fan of the well-played rock music will be hard pressed not to be moved. The tempo is generally mid paced but through the song’s ten minutes the band traverses through varying degrees of light and heavy with another exceptional melody laid down. Again, I urge any and all guitar aficionados to check out this track. With “Not Our Place To Be” a persistent keyboard string and guitar rhythm leads us through another catchy melody. Segments of dreamy mellowness reiterate the Floyd vibe. The disc ends with the poignant piano led ballad “Far Away From Home”, a fitting ending to an excellent disc.

RPWL has released another gem of a progressive rock album with Tales From Outer Space. I highly recommend you check it out.

A Gentle Art Of Music release.

Band members:
Yogi Lang (vocals, keyboards)
Kalle Wallner (guitar, bass)
Markus Jehle (keyboards)
Marc Turiaux (drums)
Torsten Weber (acoustic guitar on track 4)
Guy Pratt (bass on track 4)
Manni Müller (drums on track 4)
Bine Heller (backing vocals on tracks 1 and 5)
Carmen Tannich Wallner (percussion on track 5)

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by