Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sonora Sunrise: The Route Through The Canyon

Trippiness is the name of the game with Russian band Sonora Sunrise’s 2019 debut titled The Route Through The Canyon. The band hails from the mountainous Altai region which borders China. The band really does have a mysterious aura about them as they seem to channel the mysticism that is associated with their native land.

Vintage synths, cool effects and psychedelic guitar permeates the disc as the band venture into and accumulate elements of electronic, space and psychedelic music. Folks, I am really enjoying this one beginning with the hypnotic “Ancient Stones (Sundown)”, a soundscape of eerie drones and enhanced female vocals with one of the coolest echo effects I have heard in recent memory. Native North American mysticism comes through in “Welcome To The Sandland” where the voice of an elder and chanting vocals add to the enigmatic flavour the song invokes. Psychedelic guitar moving ever so slowly really captures the ‘70s intent and the swirling guitar chords as well as subtle nodes of feedback work remarkably well. The slow building of layers is really this band’s calling card and its best to just sit back and let the music soak in. More outer space trippiness can be heard on “Unexpected Trip” showcasing the band’s expansive palette of sounds. The tasty guitar exploits in the short “Ancient Stones (Uprise Of Jupiter)” and the organ and synth work in the space rock driven “Poison” are more great moments for fans of space and psychedelic rock.

The Route Through The Canyon comes across as an unheralded success. I surely hope to hear more of this band in the future. Please check them out by clicking on the link below.

A Trail Records release.

Track Listing:
1. Ancient Stones (Sundown) (2:20)
2. Welcome To The Sandland (11:04)
3. Unexpected Trip (7:24)
4. Poison (7:25)
5. Ancient Stones (Uprise Of Jupiter) (0:55)
6. Canyon (7:00)
7. Millions Of Snakes (7:17)
8. Roadside Picnic (4:04)
9. Ancient Stones (Planetary Standoff) (2:45)

Added: April 24th 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label @ Bandcamp
Hits: 804
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by