Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Journey: Live in Japan 2017- Escape/Frontiers (CD/Blu-ray)

Brand new members of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, legendary rock act Journey were fresh off their 2017 induction and headed over to Tokyo for a series of concerts at the Budokan, playing their classic '80s albums Escape and Frontiers in their entirety back to back. Captured on video and audio, this is a sizzling set that is now being released by the fine folks at Eagle Vision/Universal, allowing fans both old & new to experience the majesty of these two spectacular hit albums.

The current line-up of founders Neal Schon (guitar, backing vocals) and Ross Valory (bass, backing vocals) along with longtime members Jonathan Caine (keyboards, backing vocals), Steve Smith (drums), and Arnel Pineda (lead vocals), plus touring musician Travis Thibodaux on keyboards and vocals, were on fire here, delivering all the hits as well as the deep album cuts from these two very fine albums. And it's the deep tracks which really shine here, such as "Keep on Runnin' ", "Escape", 'Dead or Alive", "Chain Reaction", 'Frontiers", "Rubycon", and a scorching "Edge of the Blade". However, the main highlights are an unbelievable "Mother, Father", with Pineda singing his heart out (former drummer Deen Castronova used to tackle that one when he was in the band), and a wild encore of "Las Raza Del Sol", a fiery jazz-fusion piece that features an incredible back and forth duel between Schon's guitar and Caine's Hammond organ. Fiery!!

Great performances, impeccable visuals, and premier sound. This is a Journey concert experience not to be missed!

Track Listing
01. Don't Stop Believin' Intro
02. Don't Stop Believin'
03. Stone In Love
04. Who's Crying Now
05. Keep On Runnin'
06. Still They Ride
07. Escape
08. Lay It Down
09. Dead Or Alive
10. Neal Schon Guitar Solo
11. Mother, Father
12. Jonathan Cain Piano Solo
13. Open Arms
14. Separate Ways Intro
15. Separate Ways (Worlds Apart)
16. Send Her My Love
17. Chain Reaction
18. After The Fall
19. Faithfully
20. Edge Of The Blade
21. Steve Smith Drum Solo
22. Back Talk
23. Frontiers
24. Rubicon
25. La Raza del Sol
26. Lovin', Touchin', Squeezin'

Added: April 23rd 2019
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 560
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» Reader Comments:

Journey: Live in Japan 2017- Escape/Frontiers (CD/Blu-ray)
Posted by Pete Richards on 2020-01-12 05:39:40
My Score:

Hi Pete. Great live CD and Blue Ray but one question. Any idea why they omitted Troubled Child from the Frontiers album. A great track

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by