Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Slug Comparison: When You Were Living Here

Slug Comparison is a strange name indeed. Formed by Canadian musician Doug Harrison who is also involved in the progressive rock band Fen, When You Were Living Here is the band’s second album, the follow up to their 2014 self-titled debut.

Joining Harrison (guitar, piano, vocals, arrangements, programming) are Randall Stoll (drums), Mike Young (bass), Sam Levin (guitar, string arrangements), Jeff Caron (bass), Dave Young (programming), Rod Senft (drums) and Scott Young (bass). There is also credit given to the shout choir (Jeremy Tardif, Tatyana Dobrowolski, Scott Archibald, Nando Polesol, Bonnie and Shauna) on track 8.

The band play a form of sophisticated rock music that straddles the line between conventional rock and more progressive elements. Although I can’t say this is a full-fledged progressive rock album I can say it has been a very enjoyable and pleasing listen. The disc begins with the heavy rocking guitars of “Exactly What To Do”, a slice of top quality melodic hard rock. The next track “Hyperslump” is a bit lighter and even pop-like, the guitars having less bite with some of the chord choices almost taking on jazz undertones. It’s upbeat and just a little quirky. On “Let Some Light” and “Fine With It” the evolving acoustic and electric guitar combined with great vocals make both tunes highlight material. The layered guitar in the former and the pleasing catchiness of the latter, more mellow and easy going with a nice clean guitar solo, should appeal to fans of stylish rock music. The straight forward rock of “Thoughts” and the dramatic yet serene “When You’re Living Here” with its clean acoustic guitar and instrumental builds are more good tunes.

When You Were Living Here is an excellent modern rock album that might be light on prog but for me that doesn’t make it any less enjoyable. Well played, well sung and certainly sophisticated enough for the more discerning fan. Recommended.

A Rock Company release.

Track Listing:
1. Exactly What To Do (3:59)
2. Hyperslump (4:10)
3. Let Some Light (4:21)
4. Fine With It (3:54)
5. Thoughts (4:58)
6. When You Were Living Here (5:40)
7. Becoming (3:43)
8. So Ya Got A Great Guitar (3:38)
9. Hold Of You (4:31)
10. Beings Far Away (5:47)
11. Purple Monkey (3:06)
12. One More Step (4:23)

Added: April 23rd 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1155
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by