Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Projekt Gemieye: Man Of Science, Man Of Dreams

Man Of Science, Man Of Dreams is the third album for Canadian multi-instrumentalist Mark Anthony K and his one man band venture titled Projekt Gemineye. You can read my reviews of his first two discs; An Ordinary Day and A Brand New Day, both released in 2017.

The latest disc continues Anthony’s melodic prog excursions, occasionally drifting into progressive metal territory. Like the previous albums, the musicianship, melodies and overall song craft is excellent. Anthony is a superb musician, so much so this doesn’t sound like the work from just one man. His use of vintage instruments, particularly keyboards and synthesizers really helps shape the sounds on this one, harkening back to the progressive rock of the ‘70s. “Virtual Reality” kicks of the disc with a trippy intro of synths and effects before a dramatic drum roll and heavier guitar serve to heighten the senses. Powerful riff progressions and pronounced bass is in direct contrast to the moodier sections, mostly during the verses. Anthony has a good voice, nothing exceptional but with the wherewithal to know his limits and not overdo. His delivery is plaintive and laidback and really quite easy on the ears. “Cosmic Sea” takes a few cards from the vintage school of analog synthesizers and the bass riffs are a nod to Geddy Lee. In fact, I do hear a bit of Rush in this one. The guitars and synths are superbly played and really catchy. “To Hope…To Dream” is more somber and much more moody. An ominous keyboard note marks the song’s beginning as those vintage sounding synths again take us back a few decades. This time delicate acoustic passages alternate with layered electric guitar as the instruments join in one by one. The bass is thick and high in the mix and the melody is again highly listenable. I love the moodiness this track conveys. The almost fourteen minute “Secret Science” is a four part epic beginning with a dark sounding synth intro before chunky slabs of prog metal guitar brings on the heaviness. The synth and guitar layering eases off when the vocals begin, signifying another nice vocal performance. Melodic heavy prog is what you can expect to find with abundant moodiness and song dynamics.

This third album is another strong effort from this up and coming Canadian artist. Hopefully his music will find an audience and he can continue to make excellent music.

Track Listing:
1. Virtual Reality (7:46)
2. Cosmic Sea (5:48)
3. To Hope…To Dream (6:40)
4. Secret Science (14:20)
Part 1: Enter The Lab
Part 2: The Struggle
Part 3: Reflections
Part 4: The Scientist Oath
5. Traces Of The Past (6:32)

Added: April 23rd 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 803
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by