Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Periphery: Periphery IV: Hail Stan

The one of godfather’s of the modern Djent Metal movement, Periphery, have come out swinging with their first new record on their own label imprint, Periphery IV: Hail Stan (3DOT Recordings). The title of this new album is a reference to their love and respect for the late Marvel Comics icon, Stan Lee, and man were these guys motivated to deliver the goods.

After spending a year writing and recording this new opus as a completely independent outfit, this independence seemed to light a fire under their collective asses. Maybe it was the idea of being their own record label bosses or the move of Misha Mansoor from his native Maryland to Texas, but whatever it was this is a fine tuned, muscular Metal machine on this full length record number four.

Being a GRAMMY Award-nominated band has not gone to Periphery’s head and perhaps the added benefit of now being their own bosses have given them a large set of brass balls, but they start off Periphery IV with a track clocking in at 16:44!! “Reptile” is just that, a twisting, turning, heavy, Djenty piece of goodness that moves through their patented fretwork gymnastics with equal bits of their melodic and atmospheric overtones that actually works, even being almost 17 minutes long. You won’t be getting bored with this piece.

Periphery IV: Hail Stan, I believe to be the bands most brutally aggressive and darkest album to date with even more heavy and saturated guitar tones. Best witnessed on the bombastic, balls out track, “Blood Eagle”. They bulldoze a path of thick and chunky chugging with full on throat scrapping and an uber tight percussive drum clinic by the drum god, Matt Halpern and also contains one nasty guitar solo. WHOA!!! “CHVRCH BVRNER” is a self-proclaimed, “the most Adderall-driven song that the band has ever written” and fuck if they aren’t right! It is 3:41 minutes of pure, well…Periphery! “Garden In The Bones” offers a soporific vocal from Spencer Sotelo, that’s accompanied by some lush clean guitar tones in the bridge. And how can you start off an album with a 16 plus minute song and not finish the album with an almost 10 minute closer? You can’t and “Satellites” is that tranquil closer that finally gives way to the Djent and brings it on home as a spatial and ample conclusion.

Periphery have saddled up and made a record that is in line with their fantastic debut with Periphery IV: Hail Stan. It is very refocused, reeks of newly restored hunger and passion and just damn great! If you love Djent, then you must own! Periphery are back with a renewed vengeance.

Misha Mansoor -Guitar, Programming
Matt Halpern - Drums
Jake Bowen - Guitar, Programming
Mark Holcomb - Guitar
Spencer Sotelo - Vocals

Track Listing:
  1. Reptile
  2. Blood Eagle
  4. Garden In The Bones
  5. It's Only Smiles
  6. Follow Your Ghost
  7. Crush
  8. Sentient Glow
  9. Satellites

Added: April 7th 2019
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1338
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by