Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Dyadics: Love’s Devolution

It’s been a a real journey following the evolution of Dyadics, the duo of Kevin Kennedy (guitars/vocals) and Matt Weston (drums/moog/bass/keys) now expanded into a fully fledged four-piece augmented rather wonderfully by the vocals of Jane Carmichael and Elle Hermansen. An initial EP confused while still suggesting bigger things lay ahead, before a self-titled full length release revealed a predilection for commercial rock and ladles of Muse. Deus Ex-Machina upped the ante quite considerably by focusing more on the progressive side of the band, while still firmly providing rock songs that you could sing along to, and now Love’s Devolution continues the journey; Dyadics shedding another skin and basking in the sun of Muse-like bombast (on a less snooker-loopy level) and The Cult-ish rifferama. It’s a keen mix and one that creates a memorable smack of moody but immediately accessible rock that stands the test of time.

Undoubtedly it’s Kennedy’s clever guitar work that makes the most obvious impact, the tumbling fret runs of “Feels So Good” embellished with some gently tortured solos, while the upbeat four on the floor of “I Need Love” hums and thrums with real intent. However, the ace in this outfit’s pack is the cleverly interlinked vocals, with Kennedy, Carmichael and Hermansen able to drop in some luscious interplay whenever the mood takes them. Weston’s contribution shouldn’t be underestimated though, the power-surge of “Want Me To Be” sitting on a brutish beat that sweeps you up in its maelstrom. A trick repeated and built upon on the gritty but sculpted “Rainy Day #2” where the fuzzed up guitars bustle gleefully against smashing cymbals and pounding snare. That it all occurs alongside intricate but never over-clever vocal layering takes a keen rocker and makes it an instant stick in the mind moment.

The more considered sway of “See The Way” closes things out on a gently repetitive chorus that pops and shimmies, although it might just be the opening duo of “Don’t Look Back” and “Everything I Need” which implore you to come back for more as they both set this album’s stall out wonderfully and state its intentions defiantly.

There are loads of bands out there who, when you hear them, instantly make you wonder why no one else seems to be raving about them. Dyadics are right at the head of that pack. Odds are you don’t know them yet, but it’s a sure fire thing that you should.

Track Listing
1. Don’t Look Back
2. Everything I Need
3. Feels So Good
4. I Need Love
5. Want Me To Be
6. I Can’t Understand
7. Rainy Day #2
8. See This Way

Added: March 29th 2019
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Love's Devolution @bandcamp
Hits: 435
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by