Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Walls of Blood: Imperium

Guitarist Glen Drover (ex-Megadeth, ex-King Diamond, ex-Testament) has delivered one killer of an album with his new project under the moniker of Walls Of Blood. Their new record, Imperium, features 8 different guest singers across 10 tracks of 2019 styled Heavy goodness.

Pagan Mind’s Nils K. Rue is the first singer to step up and lend his throat to, “Leave This World Behind” with his high and soaring vocals on this chugging and heavy first song. The stage is now set for a riff and guitar led album that is just pure enjoyment to listen to. Drover twists and turns with all sorts of guitar pyro, but never over does it. This is a band/song release, not a guitar shredfest album and that is an important to fact to take into consideration. This batch of songs just destroys! Next up at the mic is Queensrÿche’s Todd La Torre and ups the ante with his incredible vocals on the Progressive leanings of powerfully heavy, “Discordia”, with double bass drumming pounding throughout. Testament’s Chuck Billy does his patented thing on the mean, “Waiting To Die” and Canadian band Striker, offers up their Dan Cleary on the thundering, “Dark Lords Of Sleep”. The busiest singer in Metal, Tim “Ripper” Owens, shows up on “Tarnished Dream” and delivers his powerful vocals on this traditional Power Metal type of tune.

One of the standout moments on Walls Of Blood’s Imperium is easily their cover of the dark and brooding Alice In Chains classic, “Junkhead”. Their version is not what a lot of bands like to do with a cover, which is change the song and try and make it their own, no sir, these guys left the song alone and nailed it!! Their rendition of “Junkhead” is so heavy and completely dead on, that it’s almost scary how much it sounds like it is actually Alice In Chains playing the song. Glen Drover’s guitar tone and attention to detail is just fantastic and his use of Lance Harvill on vocals is so eerily close to Layne Staley’s original, that at one point when listening I thought that my iTunes was on shuffle and that it WAS Alice In Chains playing! I actually had to double check what I was listening to that first listen.

Imperium is a Metal home run for me. All 10 tracks (including the AIC cover) are just so good. Each different singer adds a different flavor to the songs and the songs themselves are just so damn killer. Drover’s guitar playing and songwriting are on showcase here and he does not disappoint on either front. Melodic, heavy, powerful and groove-laden songs are what await you on Walls Of Blood’s first record, Imperium, and great first record it is.

1. Leave This World Behind (Nils K. Rue)
2. Discordia (Todd La Torre)
3. Waiting To Die (Chuck Billy)
4. Blood Sacrifice Ritual (Henning Basse)
5. Tarnished Dream (Tim "Ripper" Owens)
6. Walls Of Blood (Matt Cuthbertson)
7. The Fault Of Man" (Henning Basse)
8. Dark Lords Of Sleep (Dan Cleary)
9. Junkhead (Lance Harvill - Alice In Chains cover)
10. Seven Spirits (Henning Basse)

Added: March 22nd 2019
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1094
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by