Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Convent Guilt: Diamond Cut Diamond

“Convent Guilt is the old leaven of hard rock convictism. We will never change our ways…”

So read the liner notes to Diamond Cut Diamond, the second album from this Australian classic heavy metal band that wears its vintage Saxon, Iron Maiden, Judas Priest and other NWOBHM-era influences on its sleeves. Convent Guilt plays riff-heavy songs with titles like “Howling Vengeance” and “Powder Dry,” but the drab delivery by vocalist and bassist Ian Belshaw lacks the ferocity to give this music the bite intended by the band’s name and its demonic logo.

Lyrical themes focus on Australia’s “rich and dusty history,” according to Belshaw, as quoted on label Gates of Hell Records’ website. “Some of our lyrics deal with conquerors and the subjugated, the inbuilt weakness of men, depression-era outlaws and the insanity of social media.”

Well, that explains the striking album cover art depicting what appears to a solider ready to flog a chained shirtless man.

Track Listing:
1. Howling Vengeance
2. Born to Trouble
3. Powder Dry
4. Scream Out Your Heart
5. Bonnie and Clyde
6. Thief in the Night
7. Foxes Run

Added: March 12th 2019
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Convent Guilt on Facebook
Hits: 816
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by