Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Klaus Schulze & Solar Moon: Ultimate Docking

Readers of this site will likely be at least somewhat familiar with the legendary electronic music pioneer Klaus Schultz. Solar Moon is a German dub/electronica duo you may not have heard much about. In 2000 the two parties collaborated and released some tracks that were included in Schulze’s ten CD boxset titled Contemporary Works. The MIG label has reissued these recordings and added a few others in the 2017 release Ultimate Docking.

What jumped out at me upon listening to the first track “Let The Rain Come” is the dub influence which of course stands to reason given half the collaborators. The beats are super clean and crisp and quite intoxicating over the song’s twenty-two minute length. The vocals of Tom Dams are laid back with a hint of Jim Morrison. The gurgling keyboard sounds and soothing synth lines add some intriguing sound layers. This song also has a deep bottom end that sounds great over a good set of headphones. The keyboards and synths develop a haunting atmosphere giving the track an added dimension. ”You Get What…” is another twenty-two minute marathon, with a trippy electronic laden intro before the slow beat and vocals begin. More heavy bass and dub-like beats in this one. The background synths slowly percolate underneath the heavier beats. Another pretty cool laid back track with Dams’ vocals fitting in perfectly. The hypnotic keyboards, vocals and beats in “Strong” is yet another chilled out number that will make great nighttime listening. The snakelike and slinky jazzy drums and tripped out sounds on “Sugar Mode” makes for a real head trip. Very cool indeed. That’s pretty much what you can expect with this album; cool laid back sounds, solid beats, heavy bass and of course Schulze’s synthesizers laid down with tremendous skill and finesse.

The second disc features three tracks, similar experiments in dub and electronics. Both discs are around seventy-six minutes so there is no shortage of music here. This is an interesting take on the electronic genre, having a more modern sound. Recommended as excellent headphone listening.

Track Listing:
CD 1
1. Let The Rain Come (22:42)
2. You Get What… (22:17)
3. Strong (14:52)
4. Sugar Mode (16:46)
CD 2
1. Strong (Dub Version) (24:36)
2. What You Deserve (Poly Dub) (28:55)
3. What You Deserve (Instrumental) (22:34)

Added: March 10th 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label's Official Site
Hits: 1033
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by