Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Frank, Herman: Fight the Fear

Fans of the legendary German Metal band, Accept, should recognize the name Herman Frank. He was one half of their guitar duo, along side Wolf Hoffmann, on such classics as Balls To The Wall and their comeback album of 2010, Blood Of The Nations. But Frank is also known for his time in the band Victory and the eight albums that he has done with them. Cut to 2019 and Herman Frank has released his 4th solo record, Fight The Fear (AFM Records), another barnstormer of a disc. The guitar work from Frank on Fight The Fear is nothing short of awesome.

Along with Masterplan vocalist Rick Altzi, guitarist Heiko Schröder, former Rage drummer André Hilgers and Jaded Heart bassist Michael Müller, Herman Frank has yet again delivered a take no prisoners, in your face Metal record. Fight The Fear is a razor sharp, heavy album that spares the boredom and goes directly for the jugular. In fact, the disc does even let up for a second until the final track, “Lost In Heaven”, which is somewhat a Power Ballad, that still delivers all of the dynamics of the heavy.

Opening track, “Until The End”, sets the stage for Fight The Fear, complete with its locomotive double bass drums and thunderous, chugging riff. “Sinners” is another no holds barred, Headbanger of a track that will please any old school Accept fan and “Hatred” has a menacing, angry vibe, complete with an excellent vocal performance. Production of Fight The Fear is fantastic, with punchy drums, vocals mixed nicely and with some great modern Metal guitar tones.

Herman Frank and Co. have delivered another great Metal record for 2019. If you have been a fan of any of his previous three solo efforts, you will absolutely love this record and if you have not heard any of the past solo releases, this is a great place to start! Herman Frank brings his Metal “A” game to the masses on Fight The Fear and simply goes right for the throat. This is a high class Metal record that combines the old school and the modern.

Line Up:
Herman Frank (guitars)
Rick Altzi (vocals)
Andre Hilgers (drums)
Michael Müller (bass)
Heiko Schröder (guitars)

01 Until The End
02 Fear
03 Terror
04 Sinners
05 Hatred
06 Hail & Row
07 Hitman
08 Stay Down
09 Rock You
10 Don’t Cross The Line
11 Are You Ready
12 Wings Of Destiny
13 Waiting For The Night
14 Lost In Heaven

Added: March 30th 2019
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Artist Facebook Page
Hits: 372
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Frank, Herman: Fight the Fear
Posted by Pete Pardo, SoT Staff Writer on 2019-03-30 14:00:01
My Score:

One again veteran metal guitar ace Herman Frank puts out a more than solid solo release for AFM Records, this one titled Fight the Fear. He's got Masterplan vocalist Rick Altzi providing some tasty singing again on this new one, who proves to be a great foil for Frank's metallic riffing and blazing solos, tearing it up on tracks such as "Fear", "Sinners", "Hatred" and the lethal "Stay Down". Of course, with 14 tracks there's a lot of material here to dig into, and honestly, a few tunes could have been trimmed to make this a more compact and stronger album, but it's all damn solid and well worth checking out for fans of the longtime Accept/Victory guitar slinger.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by