Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

The Wrong Object: Into the Herd

Here's a real winner from the folks at Off Records/MoonJune Records, the new release from Belgian sextet The Wrong Object, titled Into the Herd. Not afraid to dive into Canterbury prog/jazz-rock waters or even the occasional Frank Zappa styled passage, The Wrong Object have crafted nine new tracks here that are an absolute thrill to listen to, each containing classy melodies and tasty instrumentation. The band are comprised of:

Michel Delville - guitar, guitar synth
Marti Melia- bass and tenor saxophones, clarinet
François Lourtie - soprano and tenor saxophones
Antoine Guenet - keyboards
Pierre Mottet - bass
Laurent Delchambre -drums, percussion, samples

The upbeat title track kicks things off in fine fashion, wispy melodies swirling around like some head on collision between National Health, Hatfield and the North, and mid-'70s Zappa, the saxes and guitar working in tandem so well, as they do yet again on both "A Mercy" and the enchanting "Rumble Buzz", Delville's guitar lines acrobatic and weaving around the keys and woodwinds. Fabulous stuff. The screaming jazz of "Another Thing" also injects a healthy dollop of Lizard era King Crimson, while the intricate time signatures of "Filmic" will be a joy for any longtime Zappa lover, and includes some stunning bass work from Mottet and sizzling solos from Lourtie and Guenet. "Mango Juice" is the albums longest composition at nearly 9-minutes, a brooding slice of melancholy jazz and experimentation, jagged guitar explorations and synths attacking from all angles in menacing fashion. Geunet's "Many Lives" reminds of Zappa's mighty fine Grand Wazoo period, the dual saxes and piano cranking out some lovely melodies, while the raucous "Ship of Fools" is perhaps the albums most furious piece, the group unleashing a ferocious blend of almost 'jazz-metal', with screaming sax, bombastic rhythms, and a stunning, effects laden guitar solo courtesy of Delville. The album closes with the charming "Psithurism", chock full of boisterous sax and heavy grooves, and another absolute highlight here.

Easily an early contender for jazz-rock album of 2019, Into the Herd is a musical joy from a supremely talented band at the height of their powers.

Track Listing
1. Into the Herd (4:11)
2. A Mercy (4:55)
3. Rumble Buzz (7:10)
4. Another Thing (6:52)
5. Filmic (5:34)
6. Mango Juice (8:58)
7. Many Lives (6:09)
8. Ship of Fools (6:39)
9. Psithurism (3:42)

Added: February 17th 2019
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1245
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by