Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Trigon: 30 Jahre Traumzeit

A recent discovery for me has been the German three piece band Trigon which formed in 1989. The band released Emergent in 2005 and 2011 in 2011 and also have a number of live releases. Their latest effort is titled 30 Jahre Traumzeit. The players include Rainer Lange (guitar), Stefan Lange (bass) and Tihomir Lozanovski (drums). It may seem like a pretty basic list of instruments but I can assure the music these gentleman create is anything but.

They call their music ‘HeavyZenJazz’ and what that amounts to is some damn fine rock and fusion with jam-like elements sprinkled throughout. It’s an intoxicating listen especially when you consider the fact there are only three musicians creating this special brew. Each musician is integral to the band’s sound which is amply driven by an excellent rhythm section allowing for some great grooves. Rainer Lange also makes a rather large impression here as his cool guitar explorations permeate this disc. Trippy jams, heavy riffs and some cooking guitar solos highlight the first track “Zündfunke”, a real nice bit of heavy fusion that is pretty catchy as well. More fantastic guitar work can be found on the rocking “Das Ryker Manöver” in contrast with the trippy ambience and textural psyche of “Mysterious Masterplan”. An eerie soundscape begins the piece as psychedelic guitar weaves through the haze and one very cool guitar solo follows suit. Lange’s guitar tone oozes psychedelia. A heavier solo follows tearing through the soundscape before returning to mellower textures and harmonics. With “Moshi Moshi” you get a heavy bass groove with a wild guitar intro. Throughout the eight plus minute track the drums and bass set the stage for Rainer’s heavy psychedelic guitar work. Just an excellent jam in this one. And that’s what you will find throughout the rest of this disc.

Fans of jam, fusion, psych and heavy rock should find plenty here to excite the senses. And that guitar…

Track Listing:
1. Zündfunke
2. Das Ryker Manöver
3. Mysterious Masterplan
4. Moshi Moshi
5. Rücklicht
6. Traumzeit
7. Karmageddon
8. Holografischer Aderlass
9. Der Tanga
10. Kobaltblau
11. Pulsar
12. Relikte der Regenbogenschlange
13. Skopje

Added: February 12th 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1195
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by