Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Detieti: V Obshchikh Chertyakh

Here’s an album that is completely off the wall and looking at the cover of an artist’s rendering of Jacques Cousteau it further adds to this band’s completely quirky and unusual music. This is the Russian band Detieti brought to you by the Addicted Label, committed to bringing underground music to the masses.

The band formed in 2004 and in 2013 released their debut album titled Neep. Two releases came in 2015; In General Terms and V Obshchikh Chertyakh (the subject of this review). They also released their latest titled Fragressive Punk in 2018. There have been some lineup changes throughout the years but in 2015, the year of this recording, the band consisted of Mikhail “Han” Ivanov (bass), Vanish (guitars), Viktor Tiknonov (drums) and Peyote-R (synths).

So back to that cover. I really don’t know what’s going on here but hey, I’ve always had a profound respect for Mr. Cousteau so that’s pretty cool in my book. So now that I’ve established I have no idea what’s behind the cover, the music is a similar story. To put it succinctly this music is completely whacked. You get bits and pieces of jazz, funk, rock, reggae, world, heavy metal, RIO, ambient and just about anything else you can think of. Because the tracks are so twisted and take such a variety of hard turns I am not going to describe them individually. One moment you will be listening to big band jazz and the next a slice of reggae or metal will suddenly shake things up. Lots of horns, synths, metallic riffs and a propulsive rhythm section will lead you through a twisted maze of chaos and discord.

The question is do I actually like this? Some parts yes, other parts not so much. This really is a tough one to figure out but the band are certainly having fun. Of that there can be no doubt. You’ll just have to check out some samples and decide for yourself.

*Track 11 has no title listed*

Track Listing:
1. Comme Koktebel
2. Sucre Dans Rebelle
3. Madonna La Atomique
4. Vstupka
5. Putch
6. Hominoid Relictum
7. Vada Vadu
8. Vois Vide Azan Muazzin
9. Zhek Zhmerek Zhesh
10. Entliczek-Pentliczek

Added: February 11th 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 471
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by