Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Enevoldsen, Torben: 5.1

Most recently seen with his band Section A, Danish guitarist Torben Enevoldsen is also known for his work with the likes of Fate, Acacia Avenue, Decoy and Fatal Force. Somehow, with all that going on, Torben also manages to maintain an excellent solo career releasing a consistent stream of guitar instrumental albums. 5.1 is the fifth such outing, Enevoldsen handling not only guitar, but bass and keyboards, while his regular collaborator, Dennis Hansen, mans the kit. In terms of style this latest volley stays true to the course, a melding of the Satriani, Moore and Taffola sound brought into being with more of a melodic rock eye than many of his contemporaries. That accessibility allows this album to feel much more songs based than any instrumental workout really has any right to, and while it’s hardly a rarity for the guitar slinger in these situations to fill the blanks usually left for a vocalist, on 5.1 you are immediately singing along with and remembering a whole host of guitar melodies.

“Looking For You” is a prime example, a singing guitar line leading the way and illustrating a lightness of touch that draws you in. Hansen is an unsung hero here and throughout, a simple but varied performance neither fading into the background or trying too hard to steal the limelight, and leaving Enevoldsen just the right amount of room to flex his muscles. And flex he does, the energetic Satch-like burst of “What’s Next” a mix of surging lead lines and grating riffs, while “Hangar 84” does a similar job but this time with a slightly more pensive, but no less forceful feel. Clearly the six-string is the star here, but Enevoldsen isn’t simply aiming to shove his virtuosity down your throat, the obvious talents he has never stretched beyond the tracks that house them; “G.A.Y.L.” relying on an underlying melody and hook to snag the interest and hold it. And if proof were needed that 5.1 can also thrive through a lightness of touch and bright outlook, then “Lucid Dream” does that job and then some.

Like Satch, Moore and Taffola, Torben Enevoldsen is a guitarist capable of taking the guitar instrumental setting and turning it into so much more. Yes he’s a stunning, jaw dropping six-string talent but most importantly, he’s a sympathetic, creative and skilled composer who knows how to make you want to spend time with his music. 5.1 is the latest in a long line of albums by a musician you should check out.

Track Listing
1. All-In
2. Looking For You
3. Ocean View
4. Inside Out
5. G.A.Y.L.
6. Early Reflections
7. Hangar 84
8. Lucid Dreaming
9. Bad Connection
10. Say What
11. Be-All and End-All
12. What's Next

Added: February 4th 2019
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Torben Enevoldsen online
Hits: 1511
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by