Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

El Tubo Elastico: Impala

Here’s a band I became familiar with a few years ago when I reviewed their self-titled debut in 2015. The band is El Tubo Elastico and they hail from Spain. I was very much impressed with the debut so I was looking forward to giving their sophomore effort titled Impala a listen. First of all it’s good to see this band sticking around and releasing new music as they formed way back in the late ‘90s and took a break for six years beginning in 2006.

The music presented can certainly be classified as progressive rock. They pull in a few different styles; space, fusion, avant-garde and even a bit of funkiness in the grooves. It’s all pretty intriguing and quirky stuff beginning with “Ingrávido”. A repeating keyboard line and background effects supplemented with moody guitar builds the tension. Keys are used in a subtle fashion adding textures rather than solos and the drum work is busy and complex. The rhythmic patterns are very intricate as well but not so much as to cause distraction. Everything is so well done maintaining a constant sense of flow through the twisting soundscapes. Unusual rhythmic attacks begin “Antihéroe” before slowing down with a pretty acoustic guitar. Echo effects are used to create a spacey atmosphere and pulsating bass starts to build in the background. The layered guitar lines add to the band’s multifaceted sound. Shifting tempos and musical change ups are frequent and executed seamlessly. With “Turritopsis Nutricula” the band has created a melodic yet complex piece featuring awesome bass and catchy guitar lines. The added liquid-like trippiness had me reeled in immediately. Funky bass lines, cool synths and catchy rhythms highlight “El Acelerador De Picotas”, another quirky yet highly melodic track. I really like the synths and guitar in this one. Progressive rock fans will surely appreciate the many changes and diverse soundscapes. Space rock fans should like this as well.

There are two more tracks that are equally impressive.

The more I listen the more I like as this album is seriously growing on me. A supremely talented band making interesting and uncompromising instrumental music. Highly recommended.

Track Listing:
1. Ingrávido
2. Antihéroe
3. Turritopsis Nutricula
4. El Acelerador De Picotas
5. Avispoteca
6. Impala Formidable

Added: February 2nd 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 991
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by