Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Morse, Tim: III

Tim Morse is an American musician who has been plying his trade for a number of years now. He was/is a member of the Yes tribute band Parallels and has three solo albums to his credit including his latest titled III. He has also written a couple of progressive rock related books, one about Yes which I assume is one of his favourite bands. I became acquainted with Morse’s music after reviewing the Faithscience disc, a rather nice example of melodic progressive rock.

Originally III was supposed to be a true solo album with Morse playing everything but in the end he decided to invite a few guests to help him out, mostly with drums and guitar. There are seven tracks with two over nine minutes including “Labyrinth”, the most overtly progressive tune here. The myriad of keyboard solos and guitar exploits, both light and heavy (but nowhere near metal) and more than the occasional fork in the road should satisfy many progressive rock fans. “The Path” is the other longer track with more nice synth solos, delicious melodies and fantastic vocals. Its mid-tempo pace and melodic sensibility should also make it appealing to fans of more mainstream fare. Fear not though, there is still plenty of progginess to be had especially when the music twists and turns through various moods and soundscapes. Kurt Shiflet adds a tremendously atmospheric guitar solo brimming with feel to end the track in fine style. More nice moments include the beautifully arranged and richly orchestrated “The Mary Celeste” where the keyboards and violin shine, the addictive opening track “Wake Up” and the pretty closing tune “Circle/Talisman”, two parts ballad/one part heavier riffs. The Spanish influenced acoustic guitar and uplifting keyboards add much warmth and the vocals are again excellent.

Time Morse has produced a classy melodic prog album which certainly would have made my 2018 ‘best of’ list had I gotten to it sooner. Highly recommended.

Track Listing:
1. Wake Up
2. Labyrinth
3. The Marquis
4. The Path
5. The Mary Celeste
6. My Ally
7. Circle/Talisman

Added: January 27th 2019
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 938
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by