Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Deutrom, Mark: The Blue Bird

Some readers may recognize Mark Deutrom’s name because of his stint in the Melvins in the mid-to-late 1990s. But that is not the only thing for which Deutrom should be remembered. He is a multi-talented musician with a solid background in composition. He is also a well-regarded producer with an extensive background in various musical scenes and sounds. While studying at the California Institute of the Arts, he was fortunate enough to attend seminars with composers such as John Cage, Morton Feldman, Aaron Copland, and others. Even though he is a talented composer, Deutrom is also heavily committed to popular music, including punk rock and indie rock. He has produced for the Melvins, Sacrilege, RKL, and Neurosis. In 2006, he also played several shows with Sunn O))).

Deutrom’s latest solo album is a complex and moody affair. Tracks like “Somnambulist” and “Nothing Out There” may bring to mind some of Pink Floyd’s mellower songs. For those looking for something a little heavier, “Maximum Hemingway” has some punch, as does the short (but interesting) “Futurist Manifesto.” Deutrom is a talented guitarist whose playing is soulful and haunting. Unlike some guitar-centric releases, this one isn’t trying to show off inhuman speed or technical prowess. Instead, it is a journey into a variety of spaces and sounds. As much as I liked the crunch and vibe of “Futurist Manifesto,” it was just as interesting to follow the music into the haze of “Hell is a City” or “Somnambulist.” Great guitarists capture the listener with a range of moods and sonic possibilities�"and Deutrom is definitely a great guitarist.

This is definitely an album worth hearing, whether you are a long-term fan of Deutrom’s or if you are just looking for something new.

Track Listing:
1. No Space
2. Futurist Manifesto
3. Radiant Gravity
4. O Ye of Little Faith
5. Our Revels Now Are Ended
6. Hell is a City
7. Somnambulist
8. Maximum Hemingway
9. Through the Ringing Cedars
10. They Have Won
11. On Father’s Day
12. The Happiness Machine
13. Nothing Out There

Added: January 21st 2019
Reviewer: Carl Sederholm
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 799
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by